Asparagus with Pecans and Parm Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Awesome! The KEY to this recipe is using FRESH grated parmesan cheese. Do not try to use the pre-grated kind you can buy in the store (or worse yet, the kind the the green can) - grate your own. If you don't, then I wouldn't even bother making this. Also, the sweetness of the parm is so good - I would not use pecorino. We grill asparagus at least 3x a week - great change to our nightly side dish. I used dried shitake mushroom and added some water to steam them in the pan after I sauteed them with butter. Other than that, I followed it exactly and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Used more butter and left out the onion. I have made asparagus with parmesan cheese before but not with those particular spices. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Hi - this is my recipe, and I just wanted to say that in its original form, it only takes 20 minutes. Allrecipes.com tends to change the directions... anyway, just simmer the asparagus in a skillet with 1/2" water until tender. Sautee the onions and mushrooms together until they're both soft, add seasonings and pour over asparagus on serving dish. Top with cheese. MUCH quicker (and true to how I wrote it in the first place!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I'm an asparagus nut but it's always great to try new ways to prepare this perfect vegetable. The indgredients really blended well together and the pecans added a wonderful texture to this dish. I substituted fresh garlic for garlic powder but kept the rest of the recipe the same. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYB73172

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a great, quick and easy recipe. I made a few changes, I used fresh minced garlic, I sliced my asparagus after steaming and since I cooked the asparagus while I made the mixture portion when the asparagus was done, I drained it and added it to the skillet and mixed it all of it together. It turned out great! I think I going to try the same mixture with green beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a good recipe if you want to "dress up" asparagus. I added the seasonings to the asparagus (instead of the onions) and omitted the parmasean cheese. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Excellent and super easy side dish! I made this following the instructions except I didn't have any pecans. My fiance loved it! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillybear
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I thought this was a wonderful recipe for asparagus. I followed it as posted. Next time I might cut down a bit on the butter to save some of the fat. It really was easy as well. Thanks for posting it. I submitted a photo for review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was wonderful and so easy! The only change I made was I added a little cayenne pepper to the mushrooms and it gave it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States