Asparagus with Pecans and Parm Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
The pecans give a nice texture, but for my restaurant, I decided to tweak them a bit. During prep, I browned a pat of butter in a saute pan, stirred in a small amount of brown sugar until it was caramelized, and sprinkled the mixture onto the pecans, then roasted them on high heat in the oven for about five minutes. To balance the sweetness, I threw in a VERY SMALL amount of powdered cayenne, as well as a dash of crushed red peppers, to the asparagus as I cooked it off. Remember, a little sweet and a little spice go a long way in this dish. The final product went over VERY well with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Hi - this is my recipe, and I just wanted to say that in its original form, it only takes 20 minutes. Allrecipes.com tends to change the directions... anyway, just simmer the asparagus in a skillet with 1/2" water until tender. Sautee the onions and mushrooms together until they're both soft, add seasonings and pour over asparagus on serving dish. Top with cheese. MUCH quicker (and true to how I wrote it in the first place!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Used more butter and left out the onion. I have made asparagus with parmesan cheese before but not with those particular spices. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Loved this recipe... so yummy!! I did roast the pecans in the overn with brown sugar and butter which made it taste amazing!! I did not use parm cheese for I had none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Loved these. I cooked the asparagus and put that aside, but I put the mushrooms, onions and seasonings all together and sauted till done. I pushed my mushrooms to one side of the pan and put my asparagus back in on the otherside to warm up. Wounderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was very easy to make and very filling! We ate this as a main dish and did not snack before bed. I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. This will be a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. Used exactly as written...kudos to the inventor of this yummy dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was absolutely fantastic! The best asparagus I have ever made! Will definitely make it again. Loved it! I took the shortcut suggested by the original poster, and just cooked the onions and mushrooms together. Next time I will add more than required pecans, because I thought they were a little too subtle. Or maybe I just chopped them too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Awesome! The KEY to this recipe is using FRESH grated parmesan cheese. Do not try to use the pre-grated kind you can buy in the store (or worse yet, the kind the the green can) - grate your own. If you don't, then I wouldn't even bother making this. Also, the sweetness of the parm is so good - I would not use pecorino. We grill asparagus at least 3x a week - great change to our nightly side dish. I used dried shitake mushroom and added some water to steam them in the pan after I sauteed them with butter. Other than that, I followed it exactly and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Sorry, but this was a little too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by US66CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States