Asparagus with Parmesan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Unbelievably good..... loved this recipe! Made it on the grill the 2nd time as it was summer and didn't want to heat up the house using the oven. So much better with the smoky taste from the grill. One a side note: Use a good balsamic vinegar and Parmigiano Reggiano cheese as you can definitely tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I made this for dinner tonight to go with some Ribeye steaks and the only real variation I made to it was to leave the cheese off for the first 7 minutes and then pull the asparagus out of the oven and put the cheese on and bake for another 4 minutes. This was to keep the cheese from burning. I didn't measure my cheese but I know 1 ounce really isn't that much so I think next time I would add more cheese. I used freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano and most of it melted and then there were only little flecks left to form the "crust". Sprinkling the balsamic on last was a great touch. I love the strong flavor of balsamic with vegetables though so you have to know you like that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Love how tasty this was. I used thin asparagus and baking time was onlt 10 minutes! Don't over-bake them or they will be very stringy. remove them from the oven when the just start turning bright green. They'll be perfec!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIMPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very simple, quick, and an amazing combination of flavors! A little minced garlic is also pretty tasty. I marinated them for about an hour in olive and balsamic vinegar before putting them in the oven and it tasted wonderful...no need to wait to put the vinegar on after they come out of the oven! I love this recipe...it's almost the only way I make asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is great! Try reducing the balsamic vinegar--just put it in a small saucepan and keep it at a fairly high simmer until it's syrupy. It mellows out the taste, and adds a little sweetness to the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were really good. Instead of oil, we soaked our asparagus in italian dressing for a little while then topped and baked. Also, didnt use balsalmic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
We loved this one. My husband is a garlic lover so i crushed two cloves of garlic and mixed it in with the olive oil. This is good ont he grill too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This rating comes 100% from the husband. I do not like this veggie...so this is all him. He really enjoyed and ate this like it was going to just jump off his plate. Thanks for a new side dish for the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was good. I marinated the asparagus in the oil and some vinegar for about 30 minutes before I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was a treat! It's not often that I make asparagus, and I just love it. I agree that you really do need a good balsamic vinegar. My husband won't eat cheese (or asparagus for that matter) so I made him an artichoke, but I really loved this, the pepper added a small kick, mmmm. Thanks Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States