Asparagus with Parmesan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Be very certain you are using the block of Parmesan cheese and shaving it and NOT using the green can of grated cheese or shredded cheeses. It makes a world of difference in the taste. With the "real" stuff, this is a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The cooking time was ok, although I played it on the safe side and lowered the oven temperature to 425 degrees. I swear roasting asparagus is not only the easiest, but also the best way to cook asparagus. It was the additions to the asparagus in this recipe that didn't appeal to me. First, I believe grated Parmesan, rather than shaved, is a much better option - I didn't want to end up with gloppy wads of cheese on my asparagus - and just a little sprinkling was fine. Second, this cried out for some garlic to me - garlic powder would be fine, tho' I sprinkled it very lightly with fresh, minced. Finally, I already knew I wouldn't like the balsamic vinegar on the asparagus because I don't care for it in the first place. But I thought Hubs would like it as he's more a fan of it than I am. To the recipe's credit it does give you the option to add the balsamic vinegar to taste rather than the suggested, heavy-handed 1/4 cup, but even "to taste" Hubs didn't care for it and agreed a squeeze of fresh lemon juice (like I put on mine) would have been a much better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've had this recipe in my recipe box for years, and finally tried it. Had I known it would be such a top shelf side dish, I would have tried it long ago. First, it is super easy. It was prepared and done in around twenty minutes with ingredients we had on hand. We paired it with grilled ribeyes and 2% cottage cheese for a wonderful, simple meal. We used canned asparagus and it was great, but would obviously be even better with fresh asparagus. Five stars, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I've been making asparagus this way for years. For more fun I cut half a red onnion into chunks and place on top before cooking. Also sometimes add crumbled bacon. mmmmmm.....so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessaclem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These were good, love the addition of the balsamic vinegar! I might try shortening the cooking time though because they came out a little too soft at 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Awesome aparagus! I usually boil apsaragus but this one was delicious and very tender with a crispy bite. The flavor was balanced and I really liked the texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Served it as a side dish with easter ham and it was a huge hit! I will definitely make a bigger batch next time, it didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
wasn't as I was hoping for, but then again not sure what to expect. will try again later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4girls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made with white asparagus for Easter dinner. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schasel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States