Asparagus with Junk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was tasty indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Good, but lacking something... maybe it was just salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
If looking for a fresh way to cook asparagus, this is definitely not it. I wish I would have read through the introduction. As I was eating it, I kept thinking this taste more like part of a casserole then anything I think of as asparagus. The boiling and then baking made the asparagus reminiscent of something I would get from a can in color and texture. Also, no way this amount of asparagus could be 6 servings unless eating only 3 pieces. I recalculated the 6 servings to 4, which was more realistic, and it went from 343 calories per serving to 514.5 per serving. I wanted to try this, so I just did 1/4 of the topping and calculated it as the 4 servings and it came to 137 calories per serving. Surprisingly, the asparagus was still loaded with a hefty layer of mayo, bread crumbs, and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM..........this was soo good. I made this for Easter dinner to go with Cola Easter Ham (recipe on this site) and the asparagus went perfect with the ham. I roasted the asparagus in the oven for about 18 min at 325 on top rack. I don't care for asparagus steamed I prefer it roasted so I simply skipped the steaming step of this recipe. The bread crumbs browned nicely. Thank You for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was amazing and neither my boyfriend nor I are huge asparagus fans. He even asked me to make it again the next day. I did add bacon and garlic powder to the mayo. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just a baked mess, flavors didn't mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I replaced the mayonnaise with cream of mushroom soup since a couple of us dislike it. Was a great way to use up asparagus I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I thought this dish was very tasty. I tried the roasted version as posted by another reviewer. I lightly oiled the asparagus and added salt and pepper. Put into a preheated 425 degree oven for 8 mins, the decreased the temp to 375 degrees and added other ingredients, returned to oven and baked another 15 mins. My only negative comment is that 1 cup of mayo is way too much. I decreased it to 1/4 cup and I think that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Good as written. Definitely do the boiler tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was good but I think I prefer my asparagus simpler, roasted with a little provolone melted on it if anything. I think this recipe is probably pretty good for people who don't like asparagus that much or kids maybe. But for me the "junk" took too much away from the veggie itself, but then again, I am an asparagus lover. I am giving it four stars though because I did enjoy it and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States