Asparagus with Junk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Yumm JZG. I was looking for something a bit different to do with fresh asparagus. I did this exactly as written since I had everything on hand. It turned out great (today it was my breakfast, lunch and the rest will be served with dinner, and I will make another batch for Easter dinner). Oh, and the broiler tip is a must. Thanks for sharing! Nelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
thought I would try this, as I usually just saute asparagus. It turned out good, even my husband liked it, who doesn't like any veggy unless is has cheese sauce. He had seconds. My 16th month old loved it! He had two spears. I added some parsley and paprika and garlic powder to the bread crumbs. I used Kraft parm, because I didn't have any other. I would like to use fresh grated parm next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This dish was great! The whole family loved it. I even added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes for a little kick....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacy
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very, very good. I used Miracle Whip instead, because that's what I had. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I am not a huge fan of asparagus but felt the need to buy a bunch during the season. I LOVE it now! This was awesome and I almost ate the whole thing before my boyfriend could even taste it! Used this recipe as a base and changed the following: Used light mayo, added a dash of hot sauce and lemon juice along with garlic and onion powder. Stirred it all together while the asparagus steamed, then added along with grated parm. cheese. Used crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs and sprinkled with shredded moz. cheese before sticking under the broiler for a few minutes - delicious! Going to make it for the holidays this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WawieCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
While myself and my daughters liked this recipe. It needs a little more flavor to me. My husband didn't like it because of the mayo but thought the asparagus was very nice and my son just didn't like it at all. I double the recipe with 2 bunches of asparagus and an additional cup of mayo but left the bread crumbs and parmesan the same, then put it in a 8x8 baking dish. But used seasoned bread crumbs with the parm. Next time I'm using a shallow baking dish because there was a lot of excess mayo that curdled along the sides. So now note to self, if doubling this recipe again I'll use a 1/3 cup more of mayo not a full cup. And add some italian seasoning to the mayo as well. But all in all it was a fairly decent recipe and a worthy dish. Just needs just a little bit of something added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great Idea...but try it with Roasted Asparagus instead of steaming! Awesome! I just lightly oil the asparagus with canola or olive oil, salt and pepper then place in 425 degree oven for 8 min, then take out, lower oven to 375 and then place in glass dish, cover with toppings and back for 15 min. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This came out AWESOME. The smaller asparagus came out crispy, so that was a treat. I did put the asparagus drizzled with olive oil and salt for 20 minutes before doing the recipe, instead of steaming them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellamojo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Greasy and gross. Phlegm-like consistency. Couldn't eat it. Oh well, sounded good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
tried it roasted (as suggested by top review) and it was delicious. husband thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States