Asparagus with Junk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great Idea...but try it with Roasted Asparagus instead of steaming! Awesome! I just lightly oil the asparagus with canola or olive oil, salt and pepper then place in 425 degree oven for 8 min, then take out, lower oven to 375 and then place in glass dish, cover with toppings and back for 15 min. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Yumm JZG. I was looking for something a bit different to do with fresh asparagus. I did this exactly as written since I had everything on hand. It turned out great (today it was my breakfast, lunch and the rest will be served with dinner, and I will make another batch for Easter dinner). Oh, and the broiler tip is a must. Thanks for sharing! Nelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
thought I would try this, as I usually just saute asparagus. It turned out good, even my husband liked it, who doesn't like any veggy unless is has cheese sauce. He had seconds. My 16th month old loved it! He had two spears. I added some parsley and paprika and garlic powder to the bread crumbs. I used Kraft parm, because I didn't have any other. I would like to use fresh grated parm next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Good as written. Definitely do the boiler tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was good but I think I prefer my asparagus simpler, roasted with a little provolone melted on it if anything. I think this recipe is probably pretty good for people who don't like asparagus that much or kids maybe. But for me the "junk" took too much away from the veggie itself, but then again, I am an asparagus lover. I am giving it four stars though because I did enjoy it and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I am not a huge fan of asparagus but felt the need to buy a bunch during the season. I LOVE it now! This was awesome and I almost ate the whole thing before my boyfriend could even taste it! Used this recipe as a base and changed the following: Used light mayo, added a dash of hot sauce and lemon juice along with garlic and onion powder. Stirred it all together while the asparagus steamed, then added along with grated parm. cheese. Used crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs and sprinkled with shredded moz. cheese before sticking under the broiler for a few minutes - delicious! Going to make it for the holidays this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WawieCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I replaced the mayonnaise with cream of mushroom soup since a couple of us dislike it. Was a great way to use up asparagus I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I thought this dish was very tasty. I tried the roasted version as posted by another reviewer. I lightly oiled the asparagus and added salt and pepper. Put into a preheated 425 degree oven for 8 mins, the decreased the temp to 375 degrees and added other ingredients, returned to oven and baked another 15 mins. My only negative comment is that 1 cup of mayo is way too much. I decreased it to 1/4 cup and I think that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Incredibly good! I have also made it with broccoli and it is out of this world. I'm going to try it with yellow squash next. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just a baked mess, flavors didn't mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States