Asparagus with Garlic and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was careful to watch this very attentively, and because I did I was rewarded with beautiful crisp/tender, steamed/browned asparagus - and I didn't bother to cover it at all. Delightful, attractive, and a pleasure to eat asparagus that was neither too crunchy nor cooked to mush. The onions and garlic were great flavor enhancers, but to kick it up a notch I sautéed some chopped yellow and red bell peppers along with the garlic and onions for additional flavor and garnish. Some halved cherry tomatoes would be nice too! Served this with “Pork Tenderloin Diane,” and “Lemon Pepper Pasta,” recipes also from this site. Hubs declared it a home run dinner, perfect to usher in spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a favorite in my house. I have made it plenty of times but without the onions. We love onions! I am definitely going to add them next time. I'm sure the extra ingredient will be a pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spoonlckr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I didn't think this one would turn out well. I suspected that the onion would overpower the flavor of the asparagus. But it turned out amazing! The white onion paired so well with the asparagus. I didn't get to brown it as dinner was running late, so I tossed the stalks in the garlic butter. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Yum This was really good. I kinda doubled it but didn't add extra butter. Easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It used a lot of butter for the amount of asparagus, but was very delicious and we would recommend it. You may be able to use olive oil in place of the butter for a healthier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Shaws
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely fabulous! My husband, who doesn't even like aspargus, loved it. So did my 5 year old. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
It was ok but would be better with an extra clove of garlic and a LOT less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I didn't change a thing, except used chopped garlic instead of sliced, but I thought this recipe was a little bland. Seems like it needs something more. I'll try adding some lemon pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A great simple side dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very tasty! My first time making Asparagus and I am very happy with the results! Family loves it, even the six year old twins, who are picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States