Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
the white cheese is feta.. i made it that way and it was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This caught my eye because we like asparagus, cranberries and pine nuts! I cooked my asparagus early in the afternoon and refrigerated it. I added just a bit of oil (3 T. is way too much), the cranberries and pine nuts and zapped it in the microwave to reheat it. When plating I added a little crumbled feta too. It was a wonderful new way to enjoy asparagus! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious! Next time I will steam the asparagus separately, as suggested by many others. I will also cut it into smaller pieces first. I might also cut the pine nuts and cranberries down to 1/4 c for 4 servings as well. But great idea and great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Followed the advice of others and sauteed the pine nuts and cranberries first, so they wouldn't get overdone...but even after adding to the asparagus the dish was kinda bland and definitely needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent dish! Easy, fast and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious & very colorful dish--a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner. I followed another reviewer's suggestion: sautéed pine nuts & craisins, then added steamed asparagus right before serving. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was a wonderful combination of flavors. I used dried Michigan cherries instead of cranberries. I also took the advice of a couple of reviewers and I steamed the asparagus. Also, I found that 3 tablespoons of oil was waaay too much and ended up dumping out almost all of it. After that, my pinenuts browned up nicely. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
this dish looks so good. it seems the author missed a step here. i would fry the cranberries and nuts, remove them once translucent, then fry the asparagus in that same oil, then serve with the cranberries and pine nuts on top. this way the asparagus is flavored and the nuts won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was really really tasty. We absolutely loved it. We did manage to burn the pine nuts and cranberries, though, while waiting for the asparagus to cook. Next time we do this I think we'll steam the asparagus separately while simultaneously cooking the crans/nuts in oil in a separate pan and then add the asparagus to the pan to toss and finish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very good and pretty for holidays. Next time I will add cranberries and pine nuts more toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States