Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Recipe has potential bu the pine nuts scorched. I will try again and add more salt, perhaps garlic salt and top with pine nuts when serving .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I didn't notice the pine nuts ever going translucent, I think I burnt them. But my boyfriend and I still loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The whole family loved this!!! Didnt have any pine nuts so subbed walnuts instead .... excellent. I also sauteed the cranberries & nuts separately, removed them then added the asparagus to the pan, no burning at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe! I used almonds instead of the pine nuts, simply because the pine nuts were rather expensive, and I found that almonds could be used as a suitable substitute for them, and it turned out great. I've made this recipe twice so far, and it's definitely staying in my side dish rotation for a very long time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My go to recipe whenever I have company over. I use walnuts over pine nuts but thats only personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY good, but getting the nuts and craisins to cook "just right" is a trick. I had to make 15 servings, so I cooked the asparagus in several different batches, while keeping the cooked ones warm in the oven. Then I did the cranberries and nuts in the last pan. I would say 4 minutes tops!! At 6 minutes, the craisins basically turned into candy pieces. I poured the nut mixture over the asparagus and sprinkled with feta cheese - HUGE hit with no left-overs. (I used 1/2 c pine nuts, 1/2 c slivered almonds, 1 c craisins for 15 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This dish was delicious!! I did tweak it a little bit to fit the ingredients I had at hand. Instead of tree nuts I used pecans. I did find that the dried cranberries became a little too hard fory liking after I cooked them. I followed others' advice and removed the nuts and cranberries after 2 mins and added the at the end when the asparagus was ready. But over all it was a great recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieT.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Really Good! Simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Either way I really like this dish, but I actually like it better without the cranberries. The pine nuts are a must though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is absolutely FANTASTIC!!! What an amazing and delicious change for one of our favorite veggies. I changed just a tiny bit, I added a few slivered almonds in with the pine nuts and cranberries and I sauteed the asparagus in the skillet for a couple of minutes then transferred to the microwave and steamed the stalks for a couple of minutes. It incorporated the wonderful blend of flavors in the skillet with the tenderness and flavor of steaming. After topping with the cranberry/pine nuts/almond mixture I crumbled feta cheese. Elegant in appearance and completely delectable! This is one recipe I'll make again and again and again! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM GOOOOOODDDDD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States