Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
this dish looks so good. it seems the author missed a step here. i would fry the cranberries and nuts, remove them once translucent, then fry the asparagus in that same oil, then serve with the cranberries and pine nuts on top. this way the asparagus is flavored and the nuts won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
We loved this! The only thing I did different, I steamed the asparagus first and then topped it with the toasted nuts and cranberries. It's beautiful on the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The pine nuts and craisins add a great flavor to the asparagus. As other reviewers have noted, the pine nuts brown and burn very easily. (I had to throw the first batch out and start over because the pine nuts were charred black after sautéing the asparagus.) sauté the cranberries and pine nuts for 3-4 minutes first, remove from pan with slotted spoon, then sauté asparagus, adding the cranberries and pine nuts back to the pan for the last 1-2 minutes of cooking. When made correctly, the dish is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was really really tasty. We absolutely loved it. We did manage to burn the pine nuts and cranberries, though, while waiting for the asparagus to cook. Next time we do this I think we'll steam the asparagus separately while simultaneously cooking the crans/nuts in oil in a separate pan and then add the asparagus to the pan to toss and finish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This caught my eye because we like asparagus, cranberries and pine nuts! I cooked my asparagus early in the afternoon and refrigerated it. I added just a bit of oil (3 T. is way too much), the cranberries and pine nuts and zapped it in the microwave to reheat it. When plating I added a little crumbled feta too. It was a wonderful new way to enjoy asparagus! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I was unsure what was meant by cooking the pine nuts until they looked translucent, they just kind of started to brown, but it tasted great anyway! This dish was a great new way to have asparagus and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is absolutely FANTASTIC!!! What an amazing and delicious change for one of our favorite veggies. I changed just a tiny bit, I added a few slivered almonds in with the pine nuts and cranberries and I sauteed the asparagus in the skillet for a couple of minutes then transferred to the microwave and steamed the stalks for a couple of minutes. It incorporated the wonderful blend of flavors in the skillet with the tenderness and flavor of steaming. After topping with the cranberry/pine nuts/almond mixture I crumbled feta cheese. Elegant in appearance and completely delectable! This is one recipe I'll make again and again and again! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM GOOOOOODDDDD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This dish was delicious!! I did tweak it a little bit to fit the ingredients I had at hand. Instead of tree nuts I used pecans. I did find that the dried cranberries became a little too hard fory liking after I cooked them. I followed others' advice and removed the nuts and cranberries after 2 mins and added the at the end when the asparagus was ready. But over all it was a great recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieT.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe , however, the best compliment is that my husband and daughters that normally do not eat asparagus, love it. Made it last week and I am making again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was good. I found the cranberries sticky, more sticky than normal, but it was a nice change. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States