Asparagus Swiss Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My son and I put this together - almost to the T, except we had to add another egg. It was very good but it wasn't what I'd call the "best ever." I may try to tweak it next time - with a touch of nutmeg, vary some other cheeses in there. We made it in a quiche dish and it was just adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was great! Like a few others, I made a few substitutions based on what I had in the kitchen (used cheddar instead of swiss, red & orange peppers instead of asparagus, added mushrooms, and used milk instead of cream + 2x the eggs) - but it turned out great. Having the bacon and cheese in the bottom was great and made it so much prettier with the pepper slices arranged on top, and the flour to soak up the rest of the bacon grease is brilliant. My husband lost it over this, and as we have backyard chickens this helps with the too-many-eggs situation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plaidish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is a great way to prepare asparagus other than grilling. I only had cheddar cheese and didn't use a crust. Those were the only changes I made, and it came out great. I was worried that it might not cut properly without a crust, but I had nothing to worry about since I greased my pan. This recipe is flexible to mix-ins as you can tell from other reviewers' comments about adding broccoli, spinach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChelsTheCook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Made it for Valentine's Day lunch, but made it the day before. Used Morningstar vegetarian bacon because we're both vegetarian (and it made it much healthier). It was delicious, and hubby LOVED it-- said it was the best quiche he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelsTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is an outstanding quiche and I always have request for more. The only thing that I modify is to use a deep dish 9 inch pie pan - it makes a lot, so it tends to run over the sides in a regular one. I increase the baking time by about 6 minutes. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love my Doxie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was a excellent quiche! I did splurge and use Swiss Gruyere cheese which was really yummy. When I do it again, I will saute the onions with the bacon and calm their flavor a bit. I also added more eggs and 1/2 and 1/2 and added red peppers to the top for more veggies and garnish. With the bacon and the cheese, I would eliminate adding any extra salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I made this one Saturday afternoon for lunch and it was demolished in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
i loved this quiche, the flavor combo really stood out. perfect amount of cheese and bacon and the asparagus added a nice texture. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ghose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NKTAUBE
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was pretty good. I did add an extra egg and a little extra cream, as others suggested. I also did a homemade crust -can't stand the cardboard factory made ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYONLOGAN
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this using Martha Stewart's recipe for Pate Brisee. I used a 10" pie pan so I needed to add more egg and half & half. If I hadn't of used the extra eggs I think it wouldn't have been eggy enough. I suggest garnishing with the same amount of asparagus spears at the number of people that you are serving. That way an asparagus spear would be center on each serving. My husband thought this had too much asparagus, so I can't imagine what he would have thought if he would have had it prepared without the extra eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States