Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is the best asparagus recipe I have ever made! It was easy to prepare and delicious. All ingredients, leek greens and asparagus ends, were used to make a rich veggie broth. I used organic basmati rice which made a smooth delicate density. I would use a fine white pepper rather than black pepper. Very filling and tasty. Guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A great recipe. The rice makes it thick and it has a creamy texture even though there is no milk or cream in it, which I prefer. I didn't strain the soup but blended it with a stick blender until smooth and thick. This keeps all the fibre in it. I also used chicken stock instead of water for extra flavour. Husband even enjoyed it chilled as a summer soup with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
my husband loves this soup! i put 1 whole lemon's juice and added more rice for a thicker consistency. turned out perfect! also this is great because i am lactose intolerant and this soup tastes creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Asparagus was on sale at the local supermarket and I made this soup tonight. Family thought it was "the bomb" asking if there was cream in it! Only thing I left out was the lemon juice and I replaced the rice b y 2 medium potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made many changes to this recipe to make it pallatable. I used 3 leeks and did not add any onions. I browned the leeks and rice in 2 Tbsp of olive oil. I then cooked this mixture for 30 mins. I also added less water to the soup and added 1 vegetable bouillon cube for each two cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Delightful for someone who can't tolerate milk. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This recipe was quick and easy. I used chicken broth rather than plain water. My husband and I couldn't believe there was this much flavor without any milk or cream. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
At first the recipe was confusing. Once figured out was okay. Excellent soup! We used brown rice. Even the children liked it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I prefer a thicker creamier soup. It was ok but not great. I added some heavy cream to help it along. I will not make this again there are easier and better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
sorry Kevin but the flavor was very disappointing---wasn't identifiable as asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States