Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is the best asparagus recipe I have ever made! It was easy to prepare and delicious. All ingredients, leek greens and asparagus ends, were used to make a rich veggie broth. I used organic basmati rice which made a smooth delicate density. I would use a fine white pepper rather than black pepper. Very filling and tasty. Guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A great recipe. The rice makes it thick and it has a creamy texture even though there is no milk or cream in it, which I prefer. I didn't strain the soup but blended it with a stick blender until smooth and thick. This keeps all the fibre in it. I also used chicken stock instead of water for extra flavour. Husband even enjoyed it chilled as a summer soup with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
my husband loves this soup! i put 1 whole lemon's juice and added more rice for a thicker consistency. turned out perfect! also this is great because i am lactose intolerant and this soup tastes creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Asparagus was on sale at the local supermarket and I made this soup tonight. Family thought it was "the bomb" asking if there was cream in it! Only thing I left out was the lemon juice and I replaced the rice b y 2 medium potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made many changes to this recipe to make it pallatable. I used 3 leeks and did not add any onions. I browned the leeks and rice in 2 Tbsp of olive oil. I then cooked this mixture for 30 mins. I also added less water to the soup and added 1 vegetable bouillon cube for each two cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Delightful for someone who can't tolerate milk. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This recipe was quick and easy. I used chicken broth rather than plain water. My husband and I couldn't believe there was this much flavor without any milk or cream. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
At first the recipe was confusing. Once figured out was okay. Excellent soup! We used brown rice. Even the children liked it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I prefer a thicker creamier soup. It was ok but not great. I added some heavy cream to help it along. I will not make this again there are easier and better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
sorry Kevin but the flavor was very disappointing---wasn't identifiable as asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States