Asparagus Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this last night for a New Year's Eve dinner - super easy, very very tasty and pretty on the plate to boot! I used two bunches of asparagus, about 3/4 pint of tomatoes, oil and 1/3 cup cheese. No salt or pepper. VERY good - will make again!!! Just 5 people almost ate it all up!! Tip: When steaming the asparagus, steam slightly underdone as it will keep cooking during the few minutes that the cheese melts. Also, drain off the water real well so you don't get watery cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I was looking for a quick recipe to use up a bunch of asparagus we had lying around and decided to give this a try. Instead of just olive oil, I used a garlic balsamic vinaigrette that I had already made (EV olive oil, garlic, dijon mustard, balsamic vinegar, sugar, salt, black pepper). I let the asparagus simmer for a couple minutes in the vinaigrette with the added tomatoes then grated fresh parmesan over the top before serving. We loved this! It was such a fresh & delicious side dish! Thanks for the great idea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Awesome! I didn't have any tomatoes so made it without and it was still a hit. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the steaming time in half and reduced the amount of cheese. Leftovers were excellent the next day on the salad I had for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent! I steamed for only 5-7 minutes and added less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe! I made it for Easter and there wasn't a bite left. The only change I made was to add a splash of white balsamic vinegar with the olive oil. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was a great recipe - dinner guests loved it. The tomatos added such great color to this dish. I did hit the Asparagus with some sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this to accompany steaks last night. It was excellent. I just drizzled about 2T olive oil over the asparagus as I thought 1/4 cup was too much and used about 15 grape tomatoes since they were small. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Love this recipe!! I add some extra spices and white wine to the sauce - plus threw in some sliced sausages and serve as a meal with French bread!!! Thanks!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Used just a drizzle of evoo and saved a bit of cheese to garnish after it was plated. I'm not allowed to cut cooked tomatoes cuz dd likes to pop them in her mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States