Asparagus Rolantina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This recipe is very good, but doesn't travel so well. If you are taking it to a dinner, you may want to prepare everything ahead but add bread crumbs and bake at your destination. Otherwise, the dish can come out a little dry if left to sit. The bread crumbs can absorb much of the moisture; however, the flavor is great! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I didn't have prosciutto, so I used honey ham from the deli - it was excellent!! Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
My Italian mother and I loved it -- my Irish husband did not. The prosciutto and swiss are strong flavors to blend together. Also, blanch the asparagus well if you don't like it crisp (it doesn't cook much in the oven). We had it for a second course, but it would work as an appetizer on its own. Not as a side dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAC813

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, New York, USA
Living In: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I always follow a recipe exactly the first time out, as I did here. I received several compliments for the dish, but had plenty left over. Next time, I think I'll just blanch the asparagus and then let it do its cooking in the oven, wrapped in bacon instead of proscuitti and maybe using boursin instead of the swiss cheese. It really needs to be kicked up a notch. I think I'll leave off the bread crumbs too ... as they didn't add anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I think this is a great side dish to serve with a simple main course like a beef tenderloin or grilled pork chops. The first time I made this I had extra prosciutto so I used two slices per bundle. Way too salty. The second time I followed the recipe exactly except to cut down on the parmesan and it way great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Since I do not eat beef/pork I make Asparagus Rolantina by substituting ham with smoked turkey slices I buy in Costco. This attractive dish makes a wonderful impression on everyone to whom I serve it. It is easy, nutritious and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. I used sliced ham and steamed the asparagus instead of boiling. Also used a half-slice of cheese but next time will use the whole slice. Not sure about the proportions...I thought the crumbs were maybe a bit too heavy (one-fourth cup per serving). And if you use 3-4 pencil-thin spears of asparagus, for a total of 12-16, not sure that would be a full pound. But whatever, the recipe is easy and looks impressive and tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
My husband gave this 5 stars. He kept stating that it was "awesome asparagus". He loves asparagus, but felt this was extra good. I found it to be good, but very rich. As usual, I altered the recipe slightly. I used much less melted butter and didn't have prosciutto available to me locally. I substitued smoked turkey. I served this as a main dish with a tossed salad and crusty bread. It was a simple dinner for just my husband and I. By reducing the butter and using smoked turkey, I cut the fat of the recipe. This was a plus for us, as we are trying to lighten up our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this with muenster cheese, turkey pastami, less butter, crumbs and parmesan cheese. Was excellent! Then tried it again with balsamic vinegar as someone suggested... did not care for this near as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
a lil salty...use unsalted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States