Asparagus Portobello Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this meal, but the kids did not. Its very flavorful, but you must enjoy aspargus and black olives to enjoy the flavor. I used fresh asparagus and frozen peas rather then canned, and i only blended half of the asparagus and olives and threw the other half in the pan with the mushrooms. The sauce was a little thick, I think next time I may try adding a splash of tomatoe juice in it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Miss Saucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was not a good combination of flavors at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First off, I never use canned peas or asparagus in anything. Fresh is always better. I would use just water to steam the asparagus. Cook noodles in water until al dente. Dice instead of puree the mixture of mushrooms, paste, etc. I would add a bit more garlic and some heavy whipping cream. Then serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My family said this recipe should be rated F-. I followed this recipe exactly. The sauce was horrible. The pasta tasted great by itself and the mushrooms and peas were ok together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I thought that the sauce was so flavorful and different from regular pasta sauce! It was like a party in my mouth! My husband was not on board with this recipe - he said that this "isn't his type of food", but I loved it. The portabella mushrooms on top were the perfect touch! They were so tender and the flavor was great! They added a great texture! However, as my husband evidenced, you really have to like "this type of food" - (ie - asparagus, olives, and mushrooms)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty - this is now a part of our family recipe repertoire for repeat performances. A couple of warnings, however: this is not a "mushroomy" sauce, despite all the mushrooms, and you'll wind up with way more sauce than pasta if you follow this recipe exactly. Instead, I found this better as a recipe for a sauce that can be served over your pasta of choice. The asparagus flavor is quite strong, but I didn't find that it overpowered the mushrooms, but rather complemented it. Canned asparagus and fresh asparagus have quite different flavors, and if you don't like the flavor of canned, go with fresh. Cooking it until it's very limp (similar to the texture of canned) will allow for easier blending. If you do use canned, do yourself a favor and buy quality stuff, not the cheap canned stalks&ends. My suggestions for improvement; onion and garlic fried up with the mushrooms, dice the mushroom instead of slicing, don't fry the peas, and mix the whole lot together and let it simmer for a little while so the flavors can marry. I also found that I didn't need any seasonings beyond a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Ok.. So the servings must be wrong on this. I followed the ingredients to a T and I got a whole pot full of sauce.. I agree with the other reviewer that I had to add liquid to it while blending. I chose Vegetable broth. With all the sauce I can't imagine how only 1/2 pound of noodles would even dent this. I would suggest that you add seasonings to taste. I added about 3-4 tblspns of minced garlic, my taste to sea salt and fresh grated pepper, garlic powder and salt and onion powder. I also added an onion to the mix and I couldn't bear using canned asparagus so I used frozen. I also blended all the mushrooms and peas with the sauce because I didn't think it would look good on top of the sauce. My results were mixed. I think it’s a pretty good light healthy pasta, but my daughter thought it was disgusting because of the color and texture. I ate mine, my daughter didn't finish her's and opted out for a PB and Jelly sandwich. I don't think I will make this again.. as I have enough leftovers to last me awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I didn't pay close enough attention to the recipe before cooking to realize that the "sauce" in this recipe is actually a bland paste of mashed, canned asparagus. The sauce could be better if mixed into a heavy cream sauce for a better consistency. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Made this with fresh asparagus (added a little water when blending) and fresh peas, so had great texture. Was nice but a little "ordinary" - nothing to rave about but very filling - a comfort food rather than a dinner party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was very tasty to me. I did however use fresh asparagus instead of canned, I like the crunch of asparagus that isn't over cooked. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States