Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is so good and so simple! My husband and i love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This came out looking and tasting excellent, and for how little effort it took, I give it a "wow"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This turned out great. I followed the measurements exactly, but used a 1.5 qt. casserole dish so I baked it 55-60 minutes. It was delicious. My hubby loved it and I loved how easy it was to make. I will definitely make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Awesome! Skipped the lemon and added a smidgen of cayenne pepper, also added ham chunks and a layer of shredded cheese to make this a main course. Went over really well and I will definitely make this again. Can do just about anything with this dish, can't wait to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Great recipe, easily adaptable for type of meal and personal tastes. I wanted a main entree that was all inclusive. I made the recipe as presented with these additions: Sauteed fresh, sliced mushrooms with asparagus. Diced up some left over honey glazed ham and added to the batter. Used a pinch of thyme and basil in the batter. Prepared as written put in the oven. 20 minutes before taking out I topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and continued to bake until cheese started to crisp at the edges. Because of the ham I used unsalted butter and omitted the salt in the recipe. Put salt on the table for those who thought they needed it. Will definately use Chef John's recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
so good could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I too followed the recipe but added some leftover ham for a one dish meal. I did leave out the thyme. It's not a family favorite. Substituted with a bit of rosemary which I added to the asparagus while sauteing. There are so many ways you can make this dish your own while adding different ingredients. I think next time I just might try it has a Broccoli pie. What a great way to put veggies in the chidren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Nice, light texture and people at Easter church breakfast liked the hint of lemon. Buy medium-sized asparagus and include the tops. Use finely grated zest of 1 lemon & scant 1/2 tsp. ground thyme per 8" x 8 " recipe. Due to dairy allergy, made a non-dairy version by sub. unsweetened original almond milk for milk and olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSETTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I sauteed an onion & a few cloves of garlic with butter till brown & then added the asparagus & left over shredded chicken. Added pepper, salt & herbs (not too much or it will be too overpowering). Love this dish as it is so easy to make, plus fuss free :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a great basic recipe but can be changed to suit tastes. I added some shredded cheddar cheese and it came out great. Mushrooms and ham are also great addition ideas. I also think it would be good with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States