Asparagus Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this as a side dish for my Easter Sunday dinner. It was easy and good. I had learned how to make clafouti from Chef John's blog a few years ago. Good video demonstration and easy to replicate at home. This time I used a narrower, taller 2 qt baking dish, and left it in a little longer. The low, wide Le Creuset baking dish works better I think. (Mine was otherwise occupied when I made the asparagus clafouti, so I had to resort to another dish.) This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kentuckyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We like asparagus. This was a nice change from roasted that I usually make. My husband thought it was ok; our friend really liked it. I added sauteed mushrooms, onion and a little garlic. Could not find lemon thyme, but I think it would definitely help with flavor. All and all...it was a nice vairation and looked great. I made in a 2 quart casserole dish which fit fine with the addition of mushrooms and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I am a HUGE Chef John's Fan......I have yet to make one of his recipes that I was not delighted with! I made this dish as a side for an Easter gathering and it was a hit. My husband continues to snack on the leftovers and say's every time you have to make this again. I did make a few adjustments mostly because I wanted to use some broccoli that I had before it went bad and while I was in the fridge, my fresh grated parmesan cheese was calling my name I love cheese so we had asparagus, broccoli and fresh garlic with a bit of parmesan cheese pie and it was perfect. I will try adding mushrooms in my next pie oh the opportunities are endless and of course I will pair with a great glass of wine! Bon Appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justannie187
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I was not impressed with this and I love asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. And it couldn't have begun to serve 8 - 4 of us would have polished it off if we'd liked it enough. The pie came out dense and it stuck fast to the baking dish in spite of coating the entire thing with olive oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I sauteed an onion & a few cloves of garlic with butter till brown & then added the asparagus & left over shredded chicken. Added pepper, salt & herbs (not too much or it will be too overpowering). Love this dish as it is so easy to make, plus fuss free :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Added red pepper and mushroom at asparagus stage and didn't have milk, but this still turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
so good could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Great recipe, easily adaptable for type of meal and personal tastes. I wanted a main entree that was all inclusive. I made the recipe as presented with these additions: Sauteed fresh, sliced mushrooms with asparagus. Diced up some left over honey glazed ham and added to the batter. Used a pinch of thyme and basil in the batter. Prepared as written put in the oven. 20 minutes before taking out I topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and continued to bake until cheese started to crisp at the edges. Because of the ham I used unsalted butter and omitted the salt in the recipe. Put salt on the table for those who thought they needed it. Will definately use Chef John's recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a great basic recipe but can be changed to suit tastes. I added some shredded cheddar cheese and it came out great. Mushrooms and ham are also great addition ideas. I also think it would be good with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States