Asparagus Oregenato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
absolutely loved this. I mixed the asparagus with broccoli which was great. only thing I'd change is I would cook as long... I like a little crunch and I found in the oven that long everything goes to soft. I can't wait to try this again ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this recipe with a few revisions and it was a hit. I mixed panko seasoned breadcrumbs with and fresh chopped garlic and parsely the added a little olive oil to barely moisten breadcrumb mixturs. I added slices of roast red pepper to the asparagus, squeezed some fresh lemon juice & fresh black over the asparagus then covered with breadcrumb mixture. Baked covered as inb the directions. After removing the cover for the last 5 minutes of baking I topped with shaved parmesan/romano cheese until melted & lightly brown. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tfharwood
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Overall, good recipe. You definitely can cut back on the bread crumbs, probably about half what the recipe calls for. What I did was I coated each asparagus spear in whipped egg and then rolled it in the bread crumb mixture, just like you would if you were making breaded chicken or fish. It takes a little more time, but the result is great. Each spear has a nice coating of the bread crumbs, but you still have the great asparagus taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tfharwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
it was so disgusting....i followed recipe to the letter....why do they let this terrible stuff onto the website? I have always had good luck with "allrecipes.com"......if I have to research all the reviews and then come up with a conclusion then it is a waste of time....I might as well refer to an old fashioned cook book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I followed the advice of others and cut the bread crumbs in half but next time I will cut it down even more, to a 1/2 cup of crumbs. The taste was ok but not great. I prefer baking my asparagus with a drizzle of olive oil and a pinch of salt and pepper. I may make this again to see how it comes out with less bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Made a few changes and it turned out great. I used the good old French's fried onions instead of bread crumbs and just smashed them up first. And used Asiago cheese instead of Parmesan. It was great. The cooking time seems too long, though. Next time I'll break it to only 20 minutes first. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Nasty! It's dried out asparagus with tons of bread crumbs on top. Everyone hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
The whole family enjoyed this recipe, although it was a tiny bit too salty for some reason?? Quick and easy to prepare and it went well with a chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarepta, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Oh my goodness. You have to love asparagus to love this recipe! Just get out a frying pan. Melt the butter, add breadcrumbs to cover the bottom of the pan, whatever darned seasonings you like, fresh steamed or canned asparagus... flip when the bottom is browned and eat it. Add the cheese if you wish. We love this stuff, and serve it at every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was not a good recipe for our favorite spring veggie. Too many bread crumbs. It was not very flavorful and worst of all it looked unappetizing. Unfortunately it was unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States