Asparagus Oregenato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Great alternative to just plain old asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This was a fantastic basic (and easy) recipe. I DID adjust spices/herbs according to my personal tastes. I crumbled up some home-made bread (bread machine) in the bottom, added the asparagus and plenty of cheese on top. I sprinkled some thyme and chives on top of the cheese, along with some salt and 3-4 slivers of butter. To make the "dry-sounding" combination less dry, I heated up 1/2 cup of milk with a chicken-garlic boullion cube, and poured that on top. My husband and I loved it. So I made it for the church dinner today - it was the Sunday for the bishop's annual visit. I made a bigger casserole version, only adding some bite-sized pieces of deli turkey on top of the asparagus before adding the shredded cheese. Oh, yes. This time I also chopped the asparagus into bite-sized pieces to make it easier for individuals to get "just a taste" if they so wished. Everyone loved it. There was nothing left of it by the time my husband made it through toward the end of the line of people. Some reviewers and their families didn't like it. But if you go back to read ALL of the reviews, you'll find that opinions are divided. If you want to try this easy recipe, add whatever spices/herbs you usually add to veggies, along with some kind of liquid with boullion dissolved in it - with the bread crumbs on the bottom so that they won't be further dried out when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This recipe is TERRIBLE....don't waste your time. Others were right when they said there were too many bread crumbs so I didn't use the full 2 cups but it was still way too much. This recipe is very dry and bland. I even used 6 tbsp of butter and it still was dry. The only good thing about this recipe is that the asparagus comes out cooked al dente so I was able to scrape off the mounds of bread crumbs and eat it a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was alright. I make my own bread crumbs because I just don't use them that often. Got them a bit spicy this time and the kids wouldn't touch it. I might try it again with less spicy bread crumbs, but this didn't inspire awe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Next time I make this, I will use 1/2 the bread crumbs called for in the recipe. There were way too many and it overpowered the taste of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
REALLY good! I used probably less than 1/2 the breadcrumbs called for though because I wanted to taste more of the asparagus. I also omitted the butter and tossed asparagus with small amount olive oil before adding the breadcrumbs. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I'm not quite sure about this dish... somehow my bread crumbs and cheese didn't seem to blend well together and my asparagus was limpy, I prefer crispier veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was awesome! Everyone loved it for Thanksgiving. DEEEE-licious! I had to adjust receipe for 12 people, you do not need as much as stated so go easy when adjusting receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Not very good in my opinion. I changed a little based on previous review and used olive oil instead of butter and mixed it up, because of that I gave the recipe a 2 star rating. I think there is better recipes for asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This recipe ended up in the garbage. It was very dry, the only thing I could taste was the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States