Asparagus Mushroom Bacon Crustless Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really liked the flavors in this quiche, but it seems as though 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream would have been too much. I stopped at 1 cup after pouring and I'm glad I did. The combination of swiss, asparagus, baby bella mushrooms, and of course BACON makes a delicious quiche. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Oh my goodness this is delicious! Hubby and I decided we were in the mood for breakfast for dinner, so I decided to make this quiche. I made it exactly as written and it was FABULOUS! The eggs have such an amazing creamy taste; I could just eat them plain! All the other ingredients go so well together. I wouldn't change a thing! I can see myself making this for company as it's very impressive. I like that this has no crust, so I can fit it into my low-carb diet. Thanks for the great recipe, Nikki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Thank you, thank you for submitting this recipe! My husband and I are on Atkins and doing the Phase 1 Induction. Allrecipes.com is my go-to site for recipes, and just by chance I thought I'd use Atkins Induction as my search criteria. This is the only recipe that came up and it looks a.MA.zing. Thanks again! (PS - Love all the helpful reviews!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Unbelievably good! The combination of crimini mushrooms, Swiss, bacon and asparagus was perfect. I always thought that a "flavorful" quiche had to have tomatoes and cheddar. And, HAD to have a crust. This recipe has changed my mind. I only added 1 cup cream, and added in two more eggs. The texture was perfect, it rose up beautifully, and it was cooked consistently throughout. May add a bit more Swiss cheese next time. My family asked that I make this for our Christmas morning brunch. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent flavor from the combination of asparagus, mushroom, bacon, and Swiss cheese. The generous use of heavy whipping cream in the egg mixture produces a fluffy (airy) custard. That was fine for a change of pace but prefer a slightly denser version. Thankfully, followed several reviewer’s suggestions to use only 1 cup heavy whipping cream (vs. 1-1/2 cups), and subbing milk for the difference. Because the flavor is so good, I’ll make this again but experiment with 1-1/2 cups half & half to better suit our tastes while eliminating about 90g fat/750 kcal from the entire quiche. A very good dish overall that can easily be customized to suit individual preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by brcambc
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Experiment - always fun with quiche. This is a modified version of Nikki's recipe. I break the asparagus and use the lower portion for sauteing along with the other ingredients: bacon, red pepper, mushrooms, garlic, and a blend of 4 cheeses. The top of the asparagus is not cooked before setting it on top of the quiche before baking - cooks up well in the oven. Toss in some cayenne pepper or other hot-stuff if you like. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was my first ever attempt at a quiche. I wanted to try crustless since I am trying to maintain a low carb diet. Made it for my wife and I and could not have been happier. Easy to follow recipe and tasted fantastic. My wife l loved it and took leftovers to work to brag on her husband the cook. She said it's too bad we didn't take a picture of it since it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS BUT ALWAYS JUST USED 1 C WHOLE MILK AND ADDED 1-1/2 TSP OF BOUQUET GARNI SPICE. I SOMETIMES OMIT THE MUSHROOMS AND ADD 3 CHOPPED GREEN ONIONS IF FEEDING KIDDIES. THE BOUQUET GARNI SPICE (BY SPICE ISLANDS) MAKES THIS DISH. I BAKE @ 375 FOR ABOUT 45 MIN. UNTIL GOLDEN BROWN ON TOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I have to admit that I messed with this recipe a lot, but I would have never thought of combining asparagus, mushrooms and bacon in a quiche. This is how I use up the asparagus that's always leftover because I'm the "only one who likes it!" So I use a can of crescent rolls to line a square, 2-qt baking dish as the crust. Then I fry up the bacon, drain the fat and toss in the chopped leftover asparagus to coat with flavor. I use 6 eggs and 1 can evaporated milk. This has fast become a favorite meal of even the asparagus-hater in the house! Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This just didn't hit the mark for us, primarily because of texture, which was more like a very bland custard. As I read the recipe, I thought it would be way too much cream. I was right, at least for our tastes. I make a lot of quiches and frittatas and should have known better. I'll stick with the crustless spinach quiche recipe from this site as a base, and add ingredients from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States