Asparagus Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Wonderful, imaginative recipe. A few minor tweaks, however, improved it. Used butter in place of margarine for flavor, then sauteed the garlic a little longer, until golden. Since some other reviewers thought the sauce too bland, I made a simple change which helped a lot in the flavor department. I used only half the milk, and replaced the other half with concentrated chicken stock and a couple of tablespoons of dry white wine. Simmered the sauce until the vapors from the wine ceased to tingle the nose, in order to be sure all the alcohol was burned off. When sauce was finished, I stirred in some freshly grated Asiago and Parmesan. Used fresh, peeled asparagus, lightly pre-cooked by boiling 2 minutes then shocking, cut into bite-sized pieces. Layered with a mixture of cheeses, including Jarlsberg, Parmesan and Gruyere in addition to some mozzarella. The type of cheese isn't so much of consequence as getting in some more flavorful types - mozzarella used alone doesn't have a high degree of discernible taste. You could combine it with Swiss, Gouda, Laughing Cow, Monterey Jack, or Brie, as well, or anything else that happened to be in your fridge. So spread your wings and try some combinations. Sumptuous!!! It received rave reviews. Be sure to allow sufficient time for all the various steps. This isn't a quick, easy recipe, but can be assembled up to 3 days before, then finished in the microwave when you want it. Some preparation at your convenience yields stellar results later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
My friends and I really liked my adaptation of this...even my friend who doesn't like asparagus! I didn't measure anything exactly except the (skim) milk. I used real asparagus (I think canned asparagus sounds absolutely disgusting), about 3 times the cheese, corn starch (instead of flour - mixed it with a bit of the milk) and medium egg noodles (instead of lasagne noodles, which were too much work for that meal and I needed to stretch it a bit) and mixed everything together except for about 2 cups of the cheese. I also used a larger pan and baked it in the oven at 450, adding the cheese I didn't mix in near the end of the baking time. It made plenty for 4 adults who don't eat tiny portions. I'll definitely make this again!!!!!! I also think paprika might be a tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefMidwest

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My husband and I loved this lasagna! I made a few changes. I used fresh asparagus which I cooked a little before cutting up. I also used a pound of ricotta cheese, to which I mixed in 1 beaten egg, some fresh parsley, about 3 tablespoons of grated pecorino romano cheese, and about 1/2 cup of shredded asiago cheese. I layered on the ricotta mixture first, then the ham, asparagus, sauce, and cheese as the recipe specified. I substituted asiago cheese for the mozzarella between layers, and since I mixed cheese into the ricotta, I only sprinkled a little on top of the layers. I ended up with ony two layers and sprinkled shredded mozzarella cheese on top (about 1/3 cup). Then I baked it in the oven for about 35 minutes at 400 degrees (because I was in a hurry!). I never thought it would be so delicious and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Thin asparagus, par boiled 1 minute and placed in ice water would improve the taste and texture of this recipe tremendously. Another tip regarding the sauce. When making sauces or graves that require thickening agents such as flour, corn starch, etc., place half your liquid in a small jar or other lid tight container, put in your thickener, tighten lid and shake for about 10-15 seconds. Stir into heated liquid. This method assures no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
My husband and I liked this. I used fresh asparagus and skimmed milk instead and covered it and baked it in the oven for about 30 minutes on 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This is a great dish. The sauce is surprisingly substantial and flavorful, even when made with skim milk. The combination of ham, asparagus, and cheese is terrific. It makes a satisfying and interesting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I have made this recipe twice using fresh asparagus and broccoli. Be sure to parboil them first. I also used leftover honey baked ham. We really do like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This recipie was good. I doubled it and put it in a bigger pan but next time I will use more asparagus and will make more sauce. Other than that it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe for years! It is a family favorite. When I use the no-cook lasagna noodles, I make these changes: I make the cream sauce thinner by adding more milk. After assembled, I cover the pan with foil and bake in my conventional oven until the noodles are done. Then I uncover it and sprinkle the last of the cheese on top and return to the oven to melt and brown a little. The cooking time is longer than the microwave version, but then again; you save the time of boiling and dealing with the noodles. It is easier to assemble. Made either way, it's a wonderfully different lasagna. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
The first time I made this recipe, I tried it as a lasagna and I didn't have much luck. It tasted great but it didn't seem to have enough substance to hold it together - it may have been better with a ricotta layer as others have tried. The next time I had leftover ham I tried it again, with the following changes (based on some suggestions from previous reviewers): I made the roux as directed, but I did increase the quantities a bit and use white wine for some of the liquid - then I stirred in the grated cheese as you would when making a cheese sauce. Tossed it with cooked shell pasta, chopped steamed asparagus and diced ham - put in a casserole dish, topped with some grated mozzarella and parm and baked until bubbly. It was dee-lish! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBSOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States