Asparagus Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Wonderful, imaginative recipe. A few minor tweaks, however, improved it. Used butter in place of margarine for flavor, then sauteed the garlic a little longer, until golden. Since some other reviewers thought the sauce too bland, I made a simple change which helped a lot in the flavor department. I used only half the milk, and replaced the other half with concentrated chicken stock and a couple of tablespoons of dry white wine. Simmered the sauce until the vapors from the wine ceased to tingle the nose, in order to be sure all the alcohol was burned off. When sauce was finished, I stirred in some freshly grated Asiago and Parmesan. Used fresh, peeled asparagus, lightly pre-cooked by boiling 2 minutes then shocking, cut into bite-sized pieces. Layered with a mixture of cheeses, including Jarlsberg, Parmesan and Gruyere in addition to some mozzarella. The type of cheese isn't so much of consequence as getting in some more flavorful types - mozzarella used alone doesn't have a high degree of discernible taste. You could combine it with Swiss, Gouda, Laughing Cow, Monterey Jack, or Brie, as well, or anything else that happened to be in your fridge. So spread your wings and try some combinations. Sumptuous!!! It received rave reviews. Be sure to allow sufficient time for all the various steps. This isn't a quick, easy recipe, but can be assembled up to 3 days before, then finished in the microwave when you want it. Some preparation at your convenience yields stellar results later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We really liked this but I used bottled 3-cheese alfredo instead of the sauce in the recipe. You could use Garlic Alfredo as well. Add 2 can of Asparagus and 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Outstanding! You won't believe how good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used imitation chicken instead of ham and cooked this in the oven instead of the microwave. It turned out amazing! I definitely am making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I used fresh asparagus and the no boil noodles and baked it in the over for 30-45 mon. It was soooo good. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I tried this recipe tonight and we loved it. I used fresh asparagus. I bought a pack of provolone and mozzarella cheese. We thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huzzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Very tasty! My hubby turned his nose up at first but loved it in the end, and my 3 year old ate all the asparagus. Like others, I used fresh aspargus, italien seasoning, doubled the sauce & noodles to put into a 9x13, and baked at 425 for 30 mins, instead of microwaving. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAILEYSMOM040704

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I so enjoyed this different recipe. I used fresh asparagus, and par cooked it in the microwave before using. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan, but just layered the items twice. I also added extra cheese in the layers. I used a 1 lb canned ham which worked great to just cut into strips. I did add some dill over the sauce, as it is a bit bland though- that's why I only gave it 4 stars. Otherwise my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Motte, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was so easy to make and was so yummie that my 10 year old daughter said we have to have it atleast once a month!! This is so good I recommend it it everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I went with IronChefMidwest's suggestions, and this turned out great. I think it even tasted better the following day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilsargitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States