Asparagus, Feta and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Love this recipe, but after making it several times now I've found that you only need 1 tbs of vinegar and 1 tbs of olive oil (or none at all). The vinegar can be overpowering if you use the full amount called for, especially when doubling the recipe. 2/3c uncooked couscous will feed 6-8 as a side. Again, the recipe is delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Superb! Instead of grape tomatoes, I added peeled, seeded and chopped Roma tomatoes. I used nice, fat asparagus spears, peeled and cooked only until al dente. Also added fresh mushrooms which had been sauteed with minced shallots, then reduced with dark rum. Used chicken stock to make the couscous instead of water, which added a lot of flavor. Added a handful of chopped, fresh basil leaves and a sprinkle of Asiago along with the feta. Brought it to a potluck at my quilting bee today and it drew raves. Many stuffed pita bread with it and appreciated that it was a filling, yet healthy sandwich. The recipe is a good starting point for a few tweaks that make this over-the-moon delicious. Even though I made quite a few additions, A+ for a versatile, out-of-the-ordinary recipe that can be altered easily to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was very yummy-we used trader joes multigrain couscous (instead of regular). It has a combination of mini chickpeas, quinoa, large israeli couscous and orzo. The nutty flavors of the blend along with the cheese and asparagus worked very well with the sweet balsamic vinegar. We will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great side dish- and easy too! Here is what I did to make it really tasty....cook the couscous in chicken broth. Then I roasted both the asparagus and the cherry tomatoes (cut in half) with a drizzle of olive oil and a generous shake of salt and pepper. I also added some sliced green onion. Mixed the oil and vinegar in a small bowl, then dressed the couscous and vegetables with it. I then tossed it with some really good quality goat feta, although only 4 oz. We enjoyed this side with some grilled salmon! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryBeth Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
this is a great recipe. I did make several changes though. I made the couscous and let it sit out to cool to room temp.. I blanched my asparagus and immediately plunged it in ice water. I cut up two stalk celery with leaves. i made carrot slivers with my potato peeler. i opened a can of whole tomatoes, put the juice in a ziploc in the freezer for another time and sliced up the tomatoes into cubes. I also cubed a whole cucumber. When the couscous was room temp, I cut the asparagus into small pieces and added it and all the other vegies, 1/4 cup fresh mozzarella, 1 T mayo, 2 t. italian dressing, 3 sprigs fresh thyme, and about 1/4 cup cucumber dill dip (sour cream based, made for chips and vegies)mixed it all together and everyone in this household RAVED about it! even the asparagus haters ate it all. Thank you for the base recipe for me to create from! linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortFoodNash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is really good. I had to modify it a little because of what I had on hand, but I'm certain it would have been just as good either way. I substituted artichoke hearts for the asparagus because I didn't have any on hand and then I used flavored feta for the cheese. I might next time use white balsamic vinegar just to keep the natural color of couscous. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My compliments to the chef!!! This is definitely going to be a great addition to our backyard BBQ's! I added chopped, fresh basil - and will probably add more next time. The next go 'round I will add more tomatoes and feta than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I used some roasted asparagus I had left over and it really made this recipe. Try with grilled or roasted asparagus for a fabulous variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Only change I made was to scale it down slightly (a half cup of couscous is plenty for two as a side size portion) Great side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Delicious! I added some sliced black olives that I had left over after making a Greek salad and some diced red onion. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States