Asparagus, Feta and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Superb! Instead of grape tomatoes, I added peeled, seeded and chopped Roma tomatoes. I used nice, fat asparagus spears, peeled and cooked only until al dente. Also added fresh mushrooms which had been sauteed with minced shallots, then reduced with dark rum. Used chicken stock to make the couscous instead of water, which added a lot of flavor. Added a handful of chopped, fresh basil leaves and a sprinkle of Asiago along with the feta. Brought it to a potluck at my quilting bee today and it drew raves. Many stuffed pita bread with it and appreciated that it was a filling, yet healthy sandwich. The recipe is a good starting point for a few tweaks that make this over-the-moon delicious. Even though I made quite a few additions, A+ for a versatile, out-of-the-ordinary recipe that can be altered easily to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Yummy! I also added tomatoes. Great for a bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is a quick and easy dish, but after making it I found it was unedible. There was too much couscous and it made the whole dish taste bland. It is too bad because it looked really appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The list of ingredients was mouth watering but once I built this dish the flavor was just OK. I think the balsamic vinegar had something to do with it. I will play around with this one before I serve it to friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My husband liked this more than I did...the aspargus just didnt thrill me in a greek type recipe for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This turned out really good, but I did a few things differently after reading other reviews. I grilled the asparagus, which gave it a very nice flavor. I added some sliced green onions. I only used about 4 oz. of feta, which I'm glad I did because I think the full amount would be too much. Also, instead of adding the vinegar and oil, I just drizzled on a little balsamic vinaigrette dressing instead. This was a very yummy dish! I'd definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is so good!! From the little kids up through the adults, EVERYBODY had seconds! The only changes I made were roasting the asparagus in olive oil, s&p, and adding lemon when it came out of the oven, and I added a can of garbanzo beans. (I'm on a garbanzo bean kick!) Would absolutely recommend this recipe as a light meal or a wonderful side to......well, anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
this is really delicious. i halved the amount of the couscous but keep the remaining ingredients the same. however, i used about 3T of parmesan cheese instead of feta and it is great! i am serving this with pan seared red snapper from this site for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
quinua is a good substitute for couscous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Great summer main dish recipe - I added fresh herbs - oregano, parsley and basil, along with shredded carrots and cucumber. Can feed 6 easily as a main dish. I used 2 T balsamic vinegar and 3 T olive oil and mixed together then added to the couscous. You could easily use red wine vinegar instead, but I like balsamic. Highly recommended, easy recipe - definitely will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States