Asparagus, Feta and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Chris I.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I just made this and it is fabulous! I made one-half the recipe using a tricolor couscous with vegetable stock. As couscous can sometimes be a bit dry, I added a little extra stock then as the couscous was cooling I added sauteed onion (about 1/4 cup) and garlic (one large clove) and then stirred the feta cheese into the couscous/onion/garlic to incorporate the flavors. I used steamed asparagus and a medium chopped and seeded tomato. To finish the dish I drizzled the balsamic vinegar and olive oil evenly over the couscous and mixed it in. This made 4 generous servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Wonderful!! It's a keeper at our house. Can't wait to make it this summer for friends or to take to a cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I substituted Quinoa cooked in chicken broth for the Couscous, Oven roasted the asparagus for 10 minutes w/ EVOO, sea salt and pepper, and used seeded Roma Tomatoes, chopped. I also cut the balsamic down to 2 Tablespoons which was adequate. In addition to the Feta, I grated some Romano Peccorino cheese which I think enhanced the nuttiness of the Quinoa. Healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Pretty good the feta was a little overpowering for me, might try different cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Simple and tasty. Although I put one tablespoon less of the balsamic vinegar to give it a more mild taste, which I really liked. Overall it was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This would have been a great salad had the couscous I cooked been drier. Because it had a dough consistency, instead of a salad I made pizza, which turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
What a delicious recipe! We'll be having this often. I did make a few changes. I used Israeli couscous (bigger than couscous). I browned it in a skillet with a little olive oil and a couple cloves of garlic and pepper then added equal parts water( 2 C Israeli couscous, 2 C water), brought it to a boil, then reduced to med. low and simmered covered for 10 minutes. I grilled the asparagus and also a couple green onions. I didn't have enough feta on hand so I used what I had and added a little parmesan to compensate. I'm thankful because any more feta would have over-powered the salad. Finally, I had basil in the fridge so I cut up a few leaves and added that. It was a great addition but the salad was absolutely good enough on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used the roasted garlic flavored couscous and I cooked it in chicken broth. I roasted the asparagus and tomatoes. I added chopped green onion and I did salt the veggies when I roasted them. ...and I added some salt after I mixed everything together. Very good!! I think the next time I will either add or serve with grilled or roasted shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I really like this salad, and so does everyone else who's eaten it when I've brought it to work functions or parties. My only recommendations are to 1) use a flavored couscous, such as parmesan and garlic, and 2) salt liberally to bring the flavors of the individual ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States