Asparagus, Feta and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I served this with BBQ salmon, and they paired beautifully. Eight of us gobbled up every bit. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Hubs is not terribly fond of couscous, so I made this recipe using orzo. I had already cooked orzo in the freezer, which made this even easier. I just eyeballed the salad ingredients – didn’t measure. For the dressing, I used white balsamic vinegar and cut it to 2 T. and used lite olive oil. The white balsamic ensured that my salad wouldn’t turn an ugly shade of brown. I also went about this a little differently. I tossed the orzo, asparagus and grape tomatoes separately in a little dressing and then layered each ingredient in that order on a serving dish. Then topped the layers with the crumbled feta. I think the salad is much prettier layered, instead of tossing everything together. I didn’t think of this until it was too late, but some toasted pine nuts would have been an excellent addition. Regardless there was not a bite leftover, which means we really enjoyed this and it will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious and easy. Also is good even if you don't have the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
the dressing needing a little bit more, but overall easy and delicious! Add some chickpeas and you have yourself a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was just okay. I found it rather bland by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was very good. I did not have a problem with blandness because I used the flavored couscous packages--one was a pine nut and the other was roasted garlic, as I doubled the recipe. I halved the amt of oil and vinegar as recommended by other cooks, but in the future, I'd think about eliminating the oil altogether. Overall, a big hit. Am now thinking about trying it with chick peas rather than couscous to make it a little more healthful, in which case I'd definitely use the oil, how much TBD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Not sure how to rate this as I changed some major things. But it turned out amazing! I used artichoke hearts instead of asparagus and Quinoa instead of Couscous. This was a truly great dish that I made with the Mediterranean chicken dish from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as it is above and I felt like it was missing something. Sort of bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Maine, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a tasty salad. I read the reviews and used just 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 2 tbsp of olive oil. That seemed like the right balance because the vinegar flavor was a back note instead of the main flavor. I boiled the asparagus for a few minutes until they were crisp-tender because that is how I prefer my asparagus. The couscous that I had on hand was garlic-herb flavored so I think that probably helped flavorwise. Also, my feta cheese was garlic-herb flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
fantastic recipe! i did change it slightly based upon reviews plus took a shortcut and used canned asparagus, and a large vine-ripened tomato diced really small, halved the vinegar/oil, and used chicken broth and garlic to cook the couscous (used Israeli variety) and my kids and hubby all ate seconds and asked for it for lunch tomorrow - THANK YOU!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States