Asparagus, Feta and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Chris I.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I just made this and it is fabulous! I made one-half the recipe using a tricolor couscous with vegetable stock. As couscous can sometimes be a bit dry, I added a little extra stock then as the couscous was cooling I added sauteed onion (about 1/4 cup) and garlic (one large clove) and then stirred the feta cheese into the couscous/onion/garlic to incorporate the flavors. I used steamed asparagus and a medium chopped and seeded tomato. To finish the dish I drizzled the balsamic vinegar and olive oil evenly over the couscous and mixed it in. This made 4 generous servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Wonderful!! It's a keeper at our house. Can't wait to make it this summer for friends or to take to a cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I substituted Quinoa cooked in chicken broth for the Couscous, Oven roasted the asparagus for 10 minutes w/ EVOO, sea salt and pepper, and used seeded Roma Tomatoes, chopped. I also cut the balsamic down to 2 Tablespoons which was adequate. In addition to the Feta, I grated some Romano Peccorino cheese which I think enhanced the nuttiness of the Quinoa. Healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Pretty good the feta was a little overpowering for me, might try different cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Simple and tasty. Although I put one tablespoon less of the balsamic vinegar to give it a more mild taste, which I really liked. Overall it was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This would have been a great salad had the couscous I cooked been drier. Because it had a dough consistency, instead of a salad I made pizza, which turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
What a delicious recipe! We'll be having this often. I did make a few changes. I used Israeli couscous (bigger than couscous). I browned it in a skillet with a little olive oil and a couple cloves of garlic and pepper then added equal parts water( 2 C Israeli couscous, 2 C water), brought it to a boil, then reduced to med. low and simmered covered for 10 minutes. I grilled the asparagus and also a couple green onions. I didn't have enough feta on hand so I used what I had and added a little parmesan to compensate. I'm thankful because any more feta would have over-powered the salad. Finally, I had basil in the fridge so I cut up a few leaves and added that. It was a great addition but the salad was absolutely good enough on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used the roasted garlic flavored couscous and I cooked it in chicken broth. I roasted the asparagus and tomatoes. I added chopped green onion and I did salt the veggies when I roasted them. ...and I added some salt after I mixed everything together. Very good!! I think the next time I will either add or serve with grilled or roasted shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I really like this salad, and so does everyone else who's eaten it when I've brought it to work functions or parties. My only recommendations are to 1) use a flavored couscous, such as parmesan and garlic, and 2) salt liberally to bring the flavors of the individual ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States