Asparagus Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Incredible! I did it a little different, cooking the chicken in olive oil and then mixing in all sauce ingredients and asparagus. Then put the whole thing in a dish and baked at 375 for 20 minutes. Served over penne and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
OMG sooo good!!! I took the easy route though, and had to change some ingredients due to what i had on hand. First of all, it's easiest to cut the asparagus into bite sized pieces. Then, I used ground beef instead of chicken, cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken, and omitted the nutmeg. Also only used a little spoonful of mayo & used a splash of milk instead of cream. I mixed it all up in a pan on the stove and served it from there with rice. My 2 year old DEVOURED it - asparagus and all!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this last night and it was really delicious. I'm a huge garlic fan so this was a great change of flavor for us, although next time I may decrease the amount of nutmeg just a bit and add more chicken. My BF had three helpings! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
As recipe calls for this is very bland but has a good start to something incredible. I souped it up a bit with sauted with olive oil and butter....garlic, onlion, fresh parsley, oregeno. Added flour and 2% milk into the existing oil/butter and made my sauce from there. Blended that with the soup mix and set aside. From other reviews I decided to slice my chicken in thin slices and saute for about 6 minutes. Pour the chicken over the chopped asparagus (in a 9x13 baking dish) and went from there. Baked covered at 350 for 20 minutes and the final few minutes uncovered and broiled to brown. Wasn't bad but everyone still complained it was too bland. I'm saving this recipe because it's a good start but next time I'll be adding more garlic and herbs to punch it up. Don't hesitate to play with this one! I know I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. the only thing i added while preparing this meal was garlic powder (garlic freak here) and salt and pepper. While making this dish, i really did not expect it to taste as good as it was. I cant wait to make it dinner guests next week!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This wasn't bad. We try to keep our recipes on the healthy side tho' and this is not low-fat, cal, etc. I was stepping out of the box and hoping for something so good that we could splurge with once and a while but this one won't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This dish is very rich and flavorful. It's simple to put together and I suggest staying with the recipe without adding too many variations. The simplicity of it is what makes it great. A few things I would suggest are cutting the asparagus into 2" pieces after blanching them in the water. It will make serving it a lot easier. I didn't cut them down and created quite a mess trying to plate it. Another suggestion is to cut the chicken in thin slices before cooking it. I did this and then just stir fried the chicken in a little oil before adding it to the casserole dish for the oven. This allows you to cook the meat evenly and also control the texture of it. I prefer this method rather than taking a change on overly rare or well done conditions that can happen with oven baking breasts of different sizes and cooking requirements. It also prevents you from having to slice the chicken while it's still hot. This is a great recipe and a big thanks to "Jeanne Koelsch" for submitting it. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This truly amazed me since it seemed an odd combination of ingredients, but my goodness it was so heavenly!! We are huge asparagus eaters here and it is just the perfect veggie for this combination of flavors. I wouldn't dare change a thing as it is perfect as is...and a really great company dinner to boot as it is delicious and not too time consuming and can easily be adjusted to fit any size dinner party. Thank you so much for posting!! Oh yeah, it also got rave reviews from all 5 of my kids aged from 6 to 21 and also loved by my hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mantorville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
YUM! I followed the recipe except that I grilled the chicken in 1" pieces in a grill pan with a little salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder for extra flavor. It was great. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPhoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I'm rating this recipe pretty high 5. I modified it a bit. Added hot sauce instead of worcestershire sauce. Left out the nutmeg, and sprinkled the chicken layer with balsamic vinegar. I also used fat free mayo, skim milk and served it over brown rice. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States