Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe has potential. Prepared according the recipe the meal is bland and dry. Saute the chicken in the oil, garlic and pepper flakes. I added thyme and basil to taste. Double the amount of the chicken and the asparagus or do equal parts of asparagus and yellow peppers. I also added 4 chopped roma tomatoes. Add tomatoes at the very end so they are warm and not cooked. To the penne I added 3-4 tablespoons of butter with an equal amount of half and half and 3/4 to 1 cup of asiago, romanno and parmesan blend. This makes the penne creamy. You could also add sliced black olives if desired. Salt and pepper to taste and serve. The extra chicken and vegetables makes this a hearty 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I took the suggestion of another rater and cooked my chicken with some vintage white wine, seasoned the chicken with onion powder, salt, pepper, and some crushed basil. I also simmered the asparagus in the white wine with minced garlic, fresh mushrooms, and just a dab of butter for a richer flavor. Then, seeing that previous reviews had dubbed this recipe "too dry," once the pasta was finished, I mixed in Sun Dried Tomato Alfredo sauce (from a jar, I digress) before adding my chicken and vegetables. I threw everything into my largest Pyrex mixing bowl, mixed it, and sprinkled shredded Parmesan cheese over top... and popped it in a 250 oven for 20 minutes. The dish came out FANTASTIC. It was so delicious, my super picky "hates everything" room mate Jim plowed through three servings. I will definitely be making this for my boyfriend to impress him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was very delicious, and I will definitely make it many times in the future. I made some slight variations based on past reviews, but I'm sure it would have been just as good straight from the recipe. I cooked the chicken in the olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic, and kosher salt. When the chicken was about halfway done, I added about 1/4 cup of white wine. I added the asparagus to the boiling water with the pasta for the last 3 minutes of cooking. While the pasta was draining, I stirred in halved grape tomatoes into the chicken just to heat them through and then tossed everything together. I loved this light meal -- it was quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
As previous reviews have stated: this recipe is very dry and bland as is! I love asparagus so I decided to give it a second chance only ‘kicking it up a notch’ by sautéing one yellow pepper, ½ a medium size red onion, 1 cup sliced cherry tomatoes and 3 leaves of fresh basil along with the red pepper, asparagus and garlic. I also took other reader’s advice and added 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth to the pasta mixture. This was wonderful!!!! Sooo yummy I can’t wait to cook it again  The fresh basil really added to the spicy red pepper and garlic taste while the chicken broth kept things moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
The first time I made this, I thought it was bland and the flavors didn't mix well. After experimenting several times, this is my favorite new dish. This is what I did: I seasoned the chicken lightly with Lawry's Salt before sauteing it, then I also doubled the garlic and pepper (I like garlic and spicy foods). I then used about 8-10 ounces of pasta and substituted the asparagus with some other greens (for example, buck-choi) and then added the noodles to the chicken mixture and let it simmer in chicken broth. Topped off with parmesan, it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
Delicious! Easy to make and tasetd great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This was my first real kitchen experience; mom was tired, and it was MY turn to do dinner. As a 17-year-old, I know I'm a bit behind in the cooking arena...honestly, the most I'd ever attempted before was pancakes. So imagine the family's surprise when I was able to serve them this delicious and somewhat complicated-looking dish! Not to mention MY surprise when it all went smoothly...truly a quick and easy recipe. It was delicious, and I can't wait to cook again. The only alteration I was brave enought to attempt was to use more than one tbl. spoon of olive oil to saute the chicken, and to add a bit of salt while it was sizzling; it added a lot of flavor to the chicken, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was ok. Needs some color maybe a red bell pepper. Some garlic and onion. I also added a little bit of chicken broth because it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I'm not much of a cook, and this was my first time online searching for recipes. I really liked this recipe and my family did, too. My 12 year old decided she liked asparagus! I used the roma tomatoes (never tried them before either) and the chicken broth as suggested in one of the reviews. Thanks to all you who wrote reviews, it truly helps us reluctant cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORMEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Spicy and easy to make. I really enjoyed the taste. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States