Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This dish definitely needs additional flavor. My crew was happy with kalamata olives and fresh tomatoes. For extra olive flavor, pour in some of the olive juice. Also note that the spiceyness diminishes after a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Absolutely disappointing. All heat with no flavor, besides the overwhelming flavor of the asparagus. Sorry but this was not balanced enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe was OK - I thought it was a bit dry alothough the garlic flavored it nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe definitely has great potential. I cook this for my family and the kids couldn't eat it because it was too spicy. My husband and I liked it, but it was too dry. I only used about 1/4 the amount of Penne the recipe called for. If I make this again I will cut down on the amount of red pepper and penne and add twice the amount of chicken and asparagus. Maybe add some chicken broth to the skillet while the asparagus and garlic is cooking so that it won't be so dry. I used whole wheat penne that could have had something to do with it. Who knows! Decent recipe, good flavor just needs some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
It was okay more like a 3 1/2. It was dry and lacked a "great" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe has potential. Prepared according the recipe the meal is bland and dry. Saute the chicken in the oil, garlic and pepper flakes. I added thyme and basil to taste. Double the amount of the chicken and the asparagus or do equal parts of asparagus and yellow peppers. I also added 4 chopped roma tomatoes. Add tomatoes at the very end so they are warm and not cooked. To the penne I added 3-4 tablespoons of butter with an equal amount of half and half and 3/4 to 1 cup of asiago, romanno and parmesan blend. This makes the penne creamy. You could also add sliced black olives if desired. Salt and pepper to taste and serve. The extra chicken and vegetables makes this a hearty 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Tasty! I added chopped fresh tomatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made a half batch of this last night, and with one modification, it was great! I saw the reviews about it being dry, but when I make "sauceless" pasta, I always save a cup or two of the pasta cooking water to add a bit at a time when I mix everything together. It sort of glazes the dish and gives it that little bit of extra moisture. I found it a bit "summery" for late October (the asparagus), but I'm going to make a nice white wine cream sauce for the leftovers and add some peas to increase the veggie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was really good! I made a few changes, though. After the asparagus is tender, I squeezed half a lemon over it, added halved cherry tomatoes (about a cup) and a tbsp. light butter and heated it through. I also used gemelli pasta, but that doesn't make a difference unless you're a texture person. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I would use a whole pound of chicken instead of 3/4 and 50% more aspragus. However, it is delecious. Very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States