Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made a half batch of this last night, and with one modification, it was great! I saw the reviews about it being dry, but when I make "sauceless" pasta, I always save a cup or two of the pasta cooking water to add a bit at a time when I mix everything together. It sort of glazes the dish and gives it that little bit of extra moisture. I found it a bit "summery" for late October (the asparagus), but I'm going to make a nice white wine cream sauce for the leftovers and add some peas to increase the veggie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was really good! I made a few changes, though. After the asparagus is tender, I squeezed half a lemon over it, added halved cherry tomatoes (about a cup) and a tbsp. light butter and heated it through. I also used gemelli pasta, but that doesn't make a difference unless you're a texture person. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I would use a whole pound of chicken instead of 3/4 and 50% more aspragus. However, it is delecious. Very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This recipe has potential if you add what you like. It was pretty dry, so I added lots of butter and more parmesan cheese and everyone said they liked it. Good idea to add cherry tomatos at the end, I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fulshear, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I did not care for this dish. It was VERY bland and dry. I wasn't sure that I'd like it to begin with, but was craving asparagus. I should have steamed a bowl of asparagus and just ate that. It would have tasted the same - and would have been cheaper and quicker to prepare. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
We really like this, I've made it several times. It's quick and easy and flavorful. If you salt and pepper to taste, as the recipe says, it won't be bland. I add a bit more red pepper, 'cause we like spice, and sometimes I've tossed it in a little butter or extra EVOO, but I don't think it's necessary. If you require your pasta to be saucy, you may want to try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This is a big favorite in our family. My teenager says she could eat it every day. We don't find it dry, as other reviewers say -- and we make it just as the recipe calls for. Give it a try -- maybe you'll enjoy it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I just tried this last night. It was ok. I used more olive oil then it called for...its a good thing I did or it would have been very dry. It had a good taste. It just seems like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Too dry. Might be worth trying again with some of the suggestions. Would not make recipe again as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was OK, not great for me. I had a hard time getting anyone esle to eat it, so I ended up having it for alot of lunches. Maybe too dry... I'm not real sure what the problem was. I usually love this kind of dish, but something was missing here. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States