Asparagus Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My mother made this by memory every Holiday my entire life - she is gone now and I've never actually seen this in print. What she did differently might be of some help 1. drain asparagus and save juice 2. mix asparagus juice w/ cream of mushroom soup 3. chop boiled eggs very finely and add to soup & juice 4. crush a sleeve of saltine or butter crackers and use as a "crust" 5. lay asparagus over crackers 6. pour soup & egg mixture over asparagus 7. top w/ cheese then bake. It looks pretty out of the oven, is awkward to serve, BUT always taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I had forgotten how much I love asparagus! This resipe was great. I substituted stovetop for the crackers, just sprinkling them on, and cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom soup. It tured out wonderful just the same. Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I have made this casserole twice now, and I think the flavors are very good. The recipe as-is, however, is quite soupy at the end of baking. I cut down the cream of mushroom soup to about 1 1/2 cans and it turns out to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
I changed the recipe a tiny bit by steaming fresh asparagus instead of using the canned asparagus. Overall, this is an awesome recipe and all the flavors just came together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This has been a favorite in our family for years. However, we use a 9x13 casserole dish and enough hard boiled eggs to cover both layers of asparagus/cream of mushroom/shredded cheese. We also use Durkee fried onions instead of crackers. The top layer of fried onion is not put on until the last five minutes of cook time so they come out crunchy but not burned. The whole family loves this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Great recipe!!!! I left the boiled eggs out since my son does not like them and it was still excellent. Will definitely be using this recipe again. My husband said this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Asparagus is my favorite, but I have to agree with Stacey, expensive and not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Only used 2 cans of asparagus and a 1 1/2 qt. casserole dish. Otherwise did not change anything. Took to Dinner on the Grounds at church and everyone dug in. Next time I may add a little cayenne pepper and black pepper. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I first had this at a friends house and she said the recipe was on this sight. Last Sunday was the second time for me to make this when I had guests for dinner and both times everyone wanted the recipe. Asparagus is a vegetable that is often forgotten but this is really good for a change. The asparagus are a little more expensive than other vegetables but it is well worth it. I have found that asparagus tips seem to more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Even better if you substitute cream of mushroom for cream of asparagus. Using the entire box of crackers and mixing them with cheddar cheese and a stick of butter to make a crust doesn't hurt either. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States