Asparagus Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
No changes. No modifications. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is one of my late mother-in-law's holiday staples. My kids still ask for it for holiday meals. It's not healthiest, but it is one of those ulitmate comfort foods that always has a place at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Only used 2 cans of asparagus and a 1 1/2 qt. casserole dish. Otherwise did not change anything. Took to Dinner on the Grounds at church and everyone dug in. Next time I may add a little cayenne pepper and black pepper. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This has been a favorite in our family for years. However, we use a 9x13 casserole dish and enough hard boiled eggs to cover both layers of asparagus/cream of mushroom/shredded cheese. We also use Durkee fried onions instead of crackers. The top layer of fried onion is not put on until the last five minutes of cook time so they come out crunchy but not burned. The whole family loves this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Even better if you substitute cream of mushroom for cream of asparagus. Using the entire box of crackers and mixing them with cheddar cheese and a stick of butter to make a crust doesn't hurt either. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I did cream of chicken soup, fresh, raw asparagus, stove top, and we thought it could use some noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have to admit a couple things: 1. I should've known better. This recipe didn't sound good to me when I read it, just interesting, but when I read the reviews reminding other cooks of Grandma's cooking, well, I fell for it. 2. I didn't have Ritz crackers so I used saltines. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I feel bad for giving a bad review but we just did not like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My mother made this by memory every Holiday my entire life - she is gone now and I've never actually seen this in print. What she did differently might be of some help 1. drain asparagus and save juice 2. mix asparagus juice w/ cream of mushroom soup 3. chop boiled eggs very finely and add to soup & juice 4. crush a sleeve of saltine or butter crackers and use as a "crust" 5. lay asparagus over crackers 6. pour soup & egg mixture over asparagus 7. top w/ cheese then bake. It looks pretty out of the oven, is awkward to serve, BUT always taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Sorry, but this did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States