Asparagus Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very good and easy to make. I made it for my church Thanksgiving potluck and got many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My dad is a big fan of this casserole. It's a snap to make, too. I use butter flavored crackers (e.g. Ritz) in place of the saltines, and a second can of asparagus. (Just the spears, not the juice.) I find this gives the casserole a better ratio of veggies to starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Pretty good... but needs some "pizaz". My boyfriend enjoyed the asparagus part, but we both tended to eat around the greesy saltine crackers. Oh, I also substituted the cream of mushroom for cream of celery... not to fond of the fungi. =) With the right main dish, I may serve this again for family and close friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I thought this was an easy dish to prepare. Based on other reviews, I used freshly steamed asparagus. I also used 1/2 4 ounces milk in place of the canned juice. I took this to a potluck and everyone loved it. I would agree that it doesn't keep very well (gets a little mushy) but does not affect the taste. I thought this recipe could easily be modified use other favorite vegetables. My husband loved this so I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Delicious! I used fresh asparagus (didn't steam first, just threw it in), cut the butter down a little, and cut down the amount of crumbs a little. I can see where canned asparagus wouldn't be good - I'll only make this recipe with fresh. Oh, and I used more asparagus than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Made this for a potluck dinner and all enjoyed it! Some changes I made: use 2 cans of asparagus (only use the juice from 1 can) and use a full can of cream of mushroom soup. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Outstanding! Simple and Fast! A perfect side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Everyone at home LOVED this recipe! I used frozen asparagus, which made the casserole more about the veggie and the soup and crust more of an accessory. I forgot the almonds because I was putting it together fast. That, by the way, is possibly my favorite part of this dish. It's so fast! It takes about two minutes to put the layers altogether, and it only takes 20-30 minutes to cook! Delicious! I'm going to be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This dish rocked! A total hit! I didn't have the almonds on hand, but it still was yummy. I did add broccoli to the recipe which worked nicely.. and I used the extra cheese I had to top the casserole. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I found the casserole to be a bit on the salty side. I wasn't too impressed, and my husband said it would be better with fresh asparagus to give it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States