Asparagus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
Oh my GOD....is this GOOD! I can't stop eating it! Great side dish for turkey! Janelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Cut asparagus worked well, although not as elegant. Will probably use larger cooked shrimp next time instead of canned salad shrimp. The salad shrimp got a little hard during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Rather than being concerned about the calories, beware of the cost to make this dish. I went to the store to purchase just these items and my bill came to $29.11! Ouch! But it was completely worth it when I showed up for my friends' "Sex & the City" Potluck Night and they all raved about how great it was. Medium was the largest size of Starkist canned shrimp that my grocery carries and they turned out to be a pretty good size. To cut down on calories, I used fat-free cream cheese which definitely helped cos the french fried onions had more than 100g of fat in the one can. Yikes. So if I could think of a way to use just 1/2 a can and mix it with something else to sprinkle on top then it would be absolutely perfect. Oh yes, one final thing: when I make this again I'll cut up the asparagus into bite-sized pieces. The long strands of soft asparagus were just too hard to eat (and serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving and what a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This is wonderful! I used fresh asparagus, cut in 2" pieces, steamed prior to covering with sauce. Instead of canned, definately use larger cooked shrimp. It was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Absolutely delicious and I never thought I liked asparagus. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Second year using this recipe for Thanksgiving. My sons just loved it (and their buddies). They requested it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
My family absolutely LOVED this dish! I will be making it every year for the holidays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JadeDragon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Even people who say they don't like asparagus admit that they like it when it's prepared this way! Like other reviewers, I, too, cut the asparagus into pieces rather than leaving in stalks and used fat-free cream cheese to cut down on calories. The canned shrimp seemed rather expensive so I purchased shrimp from the grocery's seafood/deli area, which was cheaper and doubled the amount used (to 16oz). It's a fabulous recipe and it's quickly becoming one that I'm known for bringing to events. Thanks Erin for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe, aside from the cost. There are ways to cut down on the calories, so improvise, don't let that keep you from trying it. Just a word of advise: be sure to mention to your guests that the recipe includes shrimp. One of my guests turned out to be allergic, lucky for me I had mentioned it before it was eaten. Thank you for this recipe Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States