Asparagus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Rather than being concerned about the calories, beware of the cost to make this dish. I went to the store to purchase just these items and my bill came to $29.11! Ouch! But it was completely worth it when I showed up for my friends' "Sex & the City" Potluck Night and they all raved about how great it was. Medium was the largest size of Starkist canned shrimp that my grocery carries and they turned out to be a pretty good size. To cut down on calories, I used fat-free cream cheese which definitely helped cos the french fried onions had more than 100g of fat in the one can. Yikes. So if I could think of a way to use just 1/2 a can and mix it with something else to sprinkle on top then it would be absolutely perfect. Oh yes, one final thing: when I make this again I'll cut up the asparagus into bite-sized pieces. The long strands of soft asparagus were just too hard to eat (and serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Even people who say they don't like asparagus admit that they like it when it's prepared this way! Like other reviewers, I, too, cut the asparagus into pieces rather than leaving in stalks and used fat-free cream cheese to cut down on calories. The canned shrimp seemed rather expensive so I purchased shrimp from the grocery's seafood/deli area, which was cheaper and doubled the amount used (to 16oz). It's a fabulous recipe and it's quickly becoming one that I'm known for bringing to events. Thanks Erin for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This recipe was a big hit for our Thanksgiving Dinner. It was GREAT! Everyone wanted the recipe. I too used a pound of fresh shrimp instead of the canned. I also used the already cut asparagus. This will be the dish I bring to all my family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
My grandmother asks for this recipe every time I serve it! I use fresh asparagus and shrimp. It makes the texture and flavor sooo much better, without jacking up the price too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Everyone loved it, I thought it was okay. I will do it again, but next time I definatly will cut the asparagus in half or thirds.. was a little messy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used fresh asparagus and shrimp instead of canned. HUGE hit! Even my husband ate it and the kids gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This was SO GOOD!! Fed a housefull of guests on Easter and it was a huge hit. Very rich, I didn't find it to be bland at all. I used large frozen tailless shrimp. Not an everyday recipe due to the cost and richness, but exquisite for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wasn't sure if I would like this, but, I really did enjoy it and my husband loved this. It got 4 stars because it is very rich. I did use reduced fat cream cheese and fresh shrimp and fresh asparagus. Next time I will use more shrimp. I didn't add the fried onions but I did sprinkle bread crumbs on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because there's nothing healthy about this recipe. I didn't even know canned asparagus existed!! Eww! I bought fresh shrimp and asparagus. I also bought fat-free cream cheese (Weight Watchers brand) and I substituted the cheese soup for condensed shrimp soup. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fe_usa78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Living In: Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
SO GOOD! My three-year-old even ate this and he won't go near green vegetables. We can't eat shrimp because of seafood allergies so I omitted the shrimp and added crumbled bacon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States