Asparagus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
My grandmother asks for this recipe every time I serve it! I use fresh asparagus and shrimp. It makes the texture and flavor sooo much better, without jacking up the price too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My husband loved this recipe! Since I can't eat shrimp, I left them out, and it still came out well. I also used fresh asparagus, which I steamed a bit first. This is a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I made this for Easter with 3 pounds of fresh, steamed asparagus instead of 3 cans of asparagus. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTHRESHER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Wonderful, forget the rest of Easter Dinner, all I wanted was this. Shrimp is not essential - could be left out. I used fresh shrimp and cut canned asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Well, we finally hit something I didn't like. I used fresh asparagus instead, that may have not helped. This was the first time I had steamed the veggie, it turned out stringy. You couldn't cut it and it came out of the casserole in huge lumpy clumps. Maybe not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. THIS WAS A DELICIOUS RECIPE AND A BIG HIT WITH MY FAMILY. THE FIRST TIME I MADE IT WAS FOR THANKSGIVING A YEAR AGO AND EVERYBODY JUST LOVED IT. HOWEVER MY DAUGHTER -IN- LAW IS A STRICT VEGETARIAN AND THEREFORE DID NOT EAT IT BECAUSE IT HAD SHRIMP IN IT. EVERYBODY ELSE SAID IT WAS SO GOOD, IT WOULD BE JUST AS TASTY WITHOUT THE SHRIMP. SO THIS THANKSGIVING, I MADE IT AGAIN WITHOUT THE SHRIMP AND SURE ENOUGH IT WAS A HIT AGAIN -- UNANIMOUSLY. THANK YOU ERIN FOR SHARIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
The recipe turned out great! I added an extra can of asparagus and used fresh cooked shrimp instead of canned. I did follow the advise of other "recipe raters" and cut the asparagus in half. I shared the dish with my family for Thanksgiving 2003 and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
OK. Too rich for a single meal. If using as a side dish, use half the ingredients unless taking this to a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I made this for my husbands birthday. We absolutely loved it! Nice twist to an all-time favorite vegetable. I would have never thought to put asparagus and shrimp together... absolutely fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Everyone loved it, I thought it was okay. I will do it again, but next time I definatly will cut the asparagus in half or thirds.. was a little messy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE

Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States