Asparagus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made this dish for Thanksgiving, and I had mixed reviews from family. Some absolutely loved it, and some thought it tasted like melted processed cheese slices. I thought that the asparagus was way too mushy...maybe next time I will try fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was wonderful! I made it on Thanksgiving for my family and they all raved about it. It's certainly not great on the waist line, but it is very tastey and a great once in a while side dish. And very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Easy, delish, everyone loved it. I bought canned shrimp and ended up using some frozen shrimp. Next time no tails on. I'd like to try with fresh asparagus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because there's nothing healthy about this recipe. I didn't even know canned asparagus existed!! Eww! I bought fresh shrimp and asparagus. I also bought fat-free cream cheese (Weight Watchers brand) and I substituted the cheese soup for condensed shrimp soup. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fe_usa78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Living In: Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
As usual I modified the recipe a bit since I rarely have all of the exact ingredients. However, I think these helped. Used only one 8 oz pkg of cream cheese (low fat) and used about 10 oz frozen shrimp, thawed, shelled, seasoned with salt, ground pepper, and ground red pepper, tossed with 1 tsp olive oil and refrigerated for 1 hour, then sautéed in another tsp olive oil and two cloves of chopped garlic for about 5 minutes, then mixed into the cheese mixture per the recipe. Otherwise, followed the recipe and it really turned out well. Somewhat rich but not as much as it would have been with more cream cheese of the non-low-fat variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Central, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was so good! Made it for Christmas dinner and every woman there asked me for the recipe. They could not believe that it was that simple of a recipe. Great for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving Dinner this year. It was okay, but I thought that it was a bit on the "saucy" side and that dominated over the mild taste of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used fresh asparagus and shrimp instead of canned. HUGE hit! Even my husband ate it and the kids gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving without the shrimp. It was a big hit! Everyone loved it! My brother-in-law's father (pickiest eater ever) even said he enjoyed the dish. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States