Asparagus Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A Big Hit! Took some time to assemble; but totally worth it. After reading the other helpful reviews, I added a parmesan garlic seasoning mix , crushed red pepper flakes & bacon bits to the cream cheese mixture. Instead of the bread, I used phyllo dough, brushed with melted butter & parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. I think crescent rolls might work too. I will be making these again, as they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These were yummy, but lots of messy work. Good for a make-ahead recipe since you freeze them ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Interesting - people liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
My new favorite appetizer! These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit! Easy to make and I love the fact that you can freeze them to serve at another time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is an OLD recipe. I started making these about 30 or so years ago, and I haven't made them for at least 20 years. Since I am visiting my daughter in Germany, I was happy to find the recipe on the net. I will be making today for NYE. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Bakaitis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have also been making these for years. I cut the pieces into 3rds to make party-nibbling a little easier. I use melted butter which I brush on top of the pieces just before baking (it uses less butter this way). I've had people rave about them who actually don't like blue cheese. A definite party favorite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BklynGil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Corea, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I have been making these I was a teenager(30 years ago), when my sister and I catered a ladies party together. We used to use canned asparagus, but now I have been using frozen asparagus spears, which are microwavable. They are cooked but are al dente. Also If they are very skinny, I use 2 or 3 spears per bread. Cut into thirds. I make these in November before Thanksgiving, freeze them in freezer bags, and if ever I need to go to a party, or have guests over, they're ready to go! I added 4 stars, because I think the aspargus should be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Souderton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I haven't tried this particular recipe but my mother-in-law makes something very similar, however she uses canned asparagus (normally I DON'T use canned vegs but if you don't want tough asparagus I recommend using canned) and instead of blue cheese I believe she uses the chive-flavored cream cheese. It is soooo yummy if you don't like blue cheese you should try the chive it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These were very good but need a little more kick for flavour. I added a little garlic and pepper and didn't slather in the butter. Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States