Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i added ham and cooked it in a double crust pie and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
A little high in fat and calories but the taste is worth it!!! My daughter even ate it without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe is truly delicious and a hit at the potluck I brought it to! It was fairly expensive to make though as asparagus is about $5/bunch where I live right now. I have a few suggestions to add to the recipe. 1. Oil baking pan well before putting puff pastry in. 2. Cut venting holes or slits in the top layer of puff pastry 3. Ten minutes was too long to cook the asparagus. I sliced my mushrooms to around 1/4" thick. Next time I make this I will fry the asparagus and mushrooms in butter together no more than 5 - 7 minutes. They have further cooking time in the oven and soggy asparagus is kind of gross. 4. Go ahead and use all of the prepared Hollandaise sauce (just shy of 2 cups). 5. Brush the top layer of puff pastry with a beaten egg before baking to give a nice glazed appearance to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made this today, and it was truly delicious ,although as mentioned high on the carbs. I did take in the last reviews points of "pamming" my dish before applying the puff pastry. I didn't go the extra mile in getting fresh asparagus, I used a can of asparagus tips, not cooking them, but layering them first on top of the pie shell and then pouring the mushroom, garlic hollaindaise sauce. I also made "vents" for the top layer of pastry and instead of egg wash, I washed the pastry with milk to give it a nice golden colour when baked. My husband enjoyed this dish very much. Thank you for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is truly great. I followed tips used pam in pan and sprayed top of vented crust to brown. I used 1 bunch of asparagus, mushrooms and a red pepper; actually any combo would work nicely and also used the entire package of sauce. This is a meal in itself for Lent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Nice recipe. I actually hate mushrooms so I have no idea if this tasted good, but I made it for a bake sale and everyone loved it. Just some small changes. I used less butter and less garlic, no hollandaise, and just sauteed the veggies in the garlic butter, before dropping it in the puff pastry. I intended to add feta as well, but forgot! Anyway, everyone enjoyed it and it was perfect for a bake sale, especially in an office where savory always sells easier than sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Yummy! And very elegant! As suggested, I used the whole pkg of hollandaise. I also used the full amount of asparagus. A few tips: 1)Use an egg slicer to slice the mushrooms. They slice easily and are uniform that way. And 2)My puff pastry sheets were square, not long enough to cover my pan, so for the top layer, I cut into 9 strips and layed them criss-cross in a lattice design on top. It turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was really delicious and looked so impressive with the puffed brown pastry top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was totally yummy & really simple, I loved it! And I love you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I thought this was a great way to use such great ingredients. My puff pastry sheets fit into a 9" square pan perfectly, would probably had to do the strips if I had wanted to put it into a 13x9 pan, I think this would even be good with a regular homemade pie crust. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States