Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very Good recipe! For those of you who are a little more health conscious, like myself, an alternative to frying the asparagus in butter would be to blanch them quickly just until tender or steam them for 5-7 minutes. The mushrooms still need to be sautéd, but I used about 2 Tbsp (I realise this may not seem like enough, but because mushrooms give off so much liquid 2 Tbsp is all you need) of olive oil to make it healthier. Getting rid of that butter should knock off at LEAST 100 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i added ham and cooked it in a double crust pie and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I thought this was a great way to use such great ingredients. My puff pastry sheets fit into a 9" square pan perfectly, would probably had to do the strips if I had wanted to put it into a 13x9 pan, I think this would even be good with a regular homemade pie crust. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was totally yummy & really simple, I loved it! And I love you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was really delicious and looked so impressive with the puffed brown pastry top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
super delicious! i used the Blender Hollandaise Sauce recipe here on allrecipes.com, really easy and fast. i would add a tsp. salt to this recipe and i also brushed the pan with butter and the top layer of puff pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Tastes good. My husband complemented on the dish. Making the dish took longer than I thought it would (the recipe times). Took other peoples advice and greased the pan, used all of the prepared hollandaise sauce (1 1/4 cup), and brushed the top with the egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Yummy! And very elegant! As suggested, I used the whole pkg of hollandaise. I also used the full amount of asparagus. A few tips: 1)Use an egg slicer to slice the mushrooms. They slice easily and are uniform that way. And 2)My puff pastry sheets were square, not long enough to cover my pan, so for the top layer, I cut into 9 strips and layed them criss-cross in a lattice design on top. It turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Nice recipe. I actually hate mushrooms so I have no idea if this tasted good, but I made it for a bake sale and everyone loved it. Just some small changes. I used less butter and less garlic, no hollandaise, and just sauteed the veggies in the garlic butter, before dropping it in the puff pastry. I intended to add feta as well, but forgot! Anyway, everyone enjoyed it and it was perfect for a bake sale, especially in an office where savory always sells easier than sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is truly great. I followed tips used pam in pan and sprayed top of vented crust to brown. I used 1 bunch of asparagus, mushrooms and a red pepper; actually any combo would work nicely and also used the entire package of sauce. This is a meal in itself for Lent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States