Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe is awesome! The only change I made was to roast the aspagargus (I love roasted asparagus, and I was able to cut out half the butter!)before adding it to the sauteed mushrooms. The second time I made this, I got sidetracked and burnt the asparagus, so I ended up sauteeing the mushrooms with a leek I had on hand, adding some garlic, and then switching the hollandaise for a packet of mushroom/pepper gravy for steak. Added a little stilton on top and ended up w/a totally different (but incredible) meal--Bottom line, you can't screw this one up! Thanks for a great recipe! (Even when it's totally changed! lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was SO good! I followed the directions and it couldnt have been better. Tonight im going to use onions and alfredo sauce instead of garlic and Hollandaise sauce. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Yummy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I must have done something wrong a couple of times because this did not turn out so well for me. I used far less butter because 1/2 cup seemed like a lot (perhaps the first thing I did wrong?) I sauteed my veggies in about 2 tablespoons of butter until they were just a little crispier than I like them (perhaps the second thing I did wrong?)Then I added the sauce and assembled and baked as directed. My end result was very liquidy. It tasted pretty good, but the asparagus was really mushy and I don't care for mushy asparagus. Also, the bottom layer of puff pastry was soggy. After it finished cooling I covered the pan and put it in the fridge. When I went to go pack some in lunches the next day, it was a soggy mess. If I could figure out how to not overcook the asparagus and to keep it from becoming a liquidy soggy mess, I would give it 5 stars, becuase the taste combination was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I loved this recipe...fantastic flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe. I added extra asparagus because it is a fav veggie. I also added cubed cooked chicken. I sprayed the top lightly with butter flavored Pam. It was wonderful and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
ok folks, I thought this recipe was really good. I tweaked it by adding flat iron steak cut into bite sized pieces and sauteed with the veggies. This steak is as good as filet mignon but less than half the price. I also used bernaise sauce instead of hollandaise. I saved some of the sauce and drizzled it over the top of each piece. It was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
great! Make personal ones by cutting sheet of puff pastry into forths. Layied asparagus on bottom sheet covered with musrooms that had been pre cooked in butter, added sauce and covered with other half of sheets. Poured rest of sauce over packets at serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I only used 2 TBSP of olive oil and 1 TBSP of butter and it was plenty. I enjoyed this recipe but my husband did not--he missed his meat! My only complaint was that there was not enough sauce using the Blender Hollandaise Sauce recipe from this site. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made this in a 9x9 pan and only used half of the asparagus asked for. I also used all of the hollandaise sauce and added pork that was sautéed in the pan I cooked the veggies in until almost done before putting it into the pie. It was absolutely delicious! The only thing I would change next time is to put less asparagus and more mushrooms. It was slightly off balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States