Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
For those of you with a soggy crust this may help: Brush bottom crust with lightly beaten egg white or whole egg. I use this trick for pies that may cause a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
WOW, this was an amazing dish!! I cooked it as written, just added a whole pkg of hollandaise instead of 1 cup and 3 shallots diced. This was a hit with all the family and even my picky hubby loved it. A definite keeper. Thanks so much for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margi C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was FANTASTIC - I really loved it. Maybe not the most healthy way to eat your vegetables, but certainly a delicious way! I did make 1 change, in that I substituted zucchini for the mushrooms (I hate mushrooms), but it turned out fabulous. And I used the Blender Hollandaise Sauce on this site, which worked very well and was delicious, especially combined with the yummy puff pastry crust. My fiance absolutely DESPISES asparagus, and he complained loud and long about my choice to make this, but after he tried some, he used the phrases "not bad," "better than most," and "I kind of almost forget it's asparagus sometimes." So I think that makes this recipe a resounding success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe was awesome I did however tweak it some. Instead of making a hollandaise I made a mornay sauce. To all of whom aren't familiar it's basically a bechamel sauce with cheese added to it. I've neved tried it with the hollandaise but I'd like to think that the mornay idea is JUST as good if not better! A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adnarim11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I also used regular pie crust instead of puff pastry. YUMM!! I used 2 cups of hollandaise sauce--definitely needed it. Good, but will use a little kielbasa in it next time. My 10 month old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Did not enjoy the soggy crust, it was soooo heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. I was making it for dinner and wanted it to be a little heartier, so I added some chopped onion and diced Canadian bacon. Makes a nice leftover for lunch, too. Actually, this can be served any time of the day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this dish last night for my son and his fiance who are Vegan. I made a Vegan Hollandaise sauce, found on this site, and added some pearl onions, because I really like cooked onions. It was a big hit. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was sooo goood! I had a 1 left over already pie crust,and 1 left over phyllo sheet from X-mas. Pie crust on the bottom, phyllo on top.[Used the blender hollanaise sauce] I only added a small sliced onion to it. Very rich. I drained my vegetables, and I sprinkled a little bit of cracker crumbs on top of the "pie crust" to help absorb some of the juices. I don't know what worked but I didn't have a problem with a soggy crust. I think the next time I make these I'm going to take Mr. Dolanski's suggestion and make indivdual packets; that sounds impressive. Also I only had 1 bunch of asparagus and 8 oz of mushrooms, and doubled the recipe of the hollandaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was delicious! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States