Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I didn't use 2 bunches of fresh asparagus and I didn't use 1 cup of hollandaise sauce. Here is what I did do. I sauteed about 1/2 a bunch of cut-up asparagus in a margarine/butter blend for 10 minutes, then I added 8 oz. of mushrooms with the garlic. I drained off as much of the liquid as possible. As one reviewer suggested, I brushed an egg wash over the bottom crust before adding the filling. I only added enough of the sauce to keep the filling moist and was left with about 1/2 cup. When I finished the pie I put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes before popping it into the oven. What came out was beautiful and absolutely out of this world. I poured some left over sauce over the servings and just chewed each piece slowly as I savored each flavor. It is very rich. I don't believe there is any way you can help having a soggy bottom but it doesn't really matter because it is so good. Maybe increasing the oven temp might help. This pie make a beautiful presentation and is perfect for a romantic brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious! I used the full amount of Hollandaise sauce and steamed the asparagus instead of frying it in butter. I also brushed egg on top of the pie. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is delicious. I've only made it once and my bottom pastry crust was soggy so I'll try some of the other reviewers ideas next time. This is really good though for the Asparagus and Mushroom lovers out there!! Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmInMontana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I think if something is referred to as a "pie," it should be round, which is why this recipe threw me off. I made it like a pie anyways :P I think the author should note that you need to roll out you dough a little to make it fill up a 13x9 pan. I just used a regular glass pie plate. I had to alter the amounts in order to make it work; less butter, 1 bunch asparagus, still 6 cloves garlic, 8 oz mushrooms, still 1 cup sauce, and still the entire package of puff pastry. It came out very nice. I highly recommend poking good vent holes so you don't get a big buildup of liquid under the crust. And make sure not to get impatient, let it cool for a while! It's not a clean-cutting pie anyway, but if you don't let it cool you'll have to scoop it out with a spoon. I let mine cool for 10 min and it was still too soupy, but set up after a while. Other than that, this was a delicious pie besides the mushrooms :P My mom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was great! I added more mushrooms and garlic because we love them. And I took the advice of another review and blanched the asparagus. The mushrooms I sauteed in a little less butter and be sure to let all of the moisture evaporate before you combine the ingredients. I did not have the puff pastry, so I just used pie shells and sliced in the vents. My kids ate 2 slices each! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
One of my favorite recipes on this site! My family loves this recipe, and I didn't have to make any changes to it either. Delicious and healthy, just the way I like 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this into triangles and served it as an appetizer. Everyone loved it. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was absoulutly wonderfull & loved the leftovers for lunch the next day or two. I made it just as written except I took someone's advice and cooked both veggies together. Put the asparagus in a few min. ahead of the mushrooms as I didn't want anything to be overcooked. I used a store brand puff pastry & had to cut the crust to fit a 9"x13" dish, maybe pepperidge farm is sized differently but they were out of it at the store. Didn't think to use rolling pin to resize it. Nest time I will take others suggestions as to use a egg wash on bottom crush to keep it from getting soggy. Mine wasn't really soggy,it just could have cooked a bit more. One pkg of sauce was plenty & everything else was perfect. Can't wait to make it again. Oh, I also added pam to the baking dish. Hope you all enjoy this as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
my family LOVED this pie! my brothers are so picky with their vegetables yet they loved this one. I used a square sheet of puff pastry on the bottom then used the second square on top by cutting the sheet into long lines & crossing the strips to look like a pie top. I also egged the top for shine and crisp. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My family loved this pie! I wasn't able to get puff pastry so I used a double regular pie crust and used an egg wash on the bottom crust. The taste was awesome and the bottom didn't get soggy, even the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States