Asparagus and Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Hubby and I both liked it a lot. I thought it needed a little more zing to the dressing, or maybe just more dressing. We ate it as an entree for dinner and then lunch the next day. I didn't saute the crab in bacon grease because I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I used real bacon, imitation crab, pencil thin asparagus, and extra hearts of palm. I did put the tomatoes in the oven with the asparagus, but made sure they were cooled completely before adding them to the salad for stirring. I'll make it again but maybe with a smidgen more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Keeper alert! I loved this salad, even with the imitation crab. The only change I made was to cook the bacon in the microwave, so I didn't have any bacon fat to warm the "crab" meat, and honestly, I don't think it needs it. Lovely, light, easy to assemble for a spring luncheon, the roasted veggies hit just the right note. This is a bargain for all you calorie watchers out there. Only 173 per serving, and worth every one. Thank you, thank you, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Something different to try with asparagus which I like, but over all it just didn't work for me with the combination of ingredients. I might try leaving the bacon out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a very good recipe. Definately put the tomatos in the oven with the asparagus. I tried putting it without and the tomatos were very hard and it did not compliment the salad. My husband LOVED this dish. I cut the asparagus before putting it in the oven which was a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The directions were hard to follow. DO NOT put the tomatoes in the oven with the asparagus, unless you want really mushy tomatoes. I modified this and added cilantro, the juice of a whole lemen and did not put use the hearts of palm or the bacon. Cut the maters in half so they are easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
very light and refreshing - used real crab meat and marinated artichokes instead of palm - forgot the bacon and did not miss it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Delicious! I ate the whole thing myself (tasted fine leftover) but can't wait to make this dish for family and friends! The only changes I made, mainly out of necessity and laziness, were using chopped vine-ripened tomatoes, garlic powder, and thick cut pre-cooked bacon. I also cut the asparagus into bite size pieces BEFORE roasting and crumbled the bacon AFTER cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
outstanding recipe!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Super easy to make and delicious! It makes a lot though. I made it just for my boyfriend and I and ended up taking most of it to work. My coworkers polished it off and raved about how good it was! I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States