Asparagus and Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
We love asparagus in this house and this is a good recipe to add to our repertoire. I reduced both oils by half; 1/4 cup [4 tbsps] seemed a lot of oil for a veggie dish, especially with the cashews. I used the fresh ginger, and found the flavour of the dish to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
A delicious and pretty healthy way to serve asparagus. Although I followed the ingredients exactly, I made it a little differently: I tossed the thinnest spears in the pack into boiling salted water, removed them as soon as they turned bright green, and then immersed them in iced water for a couple of mins. I then basically just heated them through with the soy/ginger cashews. They turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Update! ok, we make this dish about 2-3 times a week, and we ran out of ginger root, and its still good, and we usually dont put cashews in it. It's realllllly good- everyone loves it! We also make it with long green beans instead of asparagus sometimes--mmhmm! I really liked this dish. i had never made it before and i didn t change anything, except i didnt have a wok so I just used a large pan. My uncle doesnt like asparagus, but he liked this one!!! I thought it was great, and my family is having me make it for them now!! I loved it and I ope this came in handy for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I served this for Easter (35+ people)and have had rave reviews and requests for this delicious recipe. I tripled the recipe and found it worked out great... don't overdue the soy sauce as it could get salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Awesome. I am not a fan of asparagus, but it always seems as if my husband is buying it and wanting me to serve it for dinner. I LOVE this recipe. The only change I made was to cut the asparagus into thirds...a little easiert to eat. I used the stated amount of oil, just used a slotted spoon to take the asparagus out of the pan and left the excess behind. I am going to serve this dish at my next dinner party and when everyone is raving about it, I am going to smile and take all the credit. Sandy...you are my new best friend...and girl, you can cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was very good, however I did reduce the amount of olive and sesame oil to 1 T each. Also, I used 1-2 tsp reduced sodium Tamari and 1/4 cup cashews. I did not feel like the dish was short on flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Hubby really liked this. I added just one little clove of garlic and just a bit of freshly grated ginger...he ate it up quickly. (Me...not a fan of asparagus). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We just had this tonight, and we thought it was absolutely a wonderful asparagus recipe! Cut the oils in half and used peanuts because we had them. Make sure you cook the asparagus until tender. I didn't cook it long enough, but it was still terrific! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Wonderful! I cut the asparagus in pieces and used whole cashews. I also cut the olive oil and sesame oil in half and it was perfect. One dinner guest exclaimed that this was the BEST asparagus he had ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is my new favorite asparagus recipe! I cut the asparagus stocks short, used minced garlic, pureed ginger, low sodium soy sauce and reduced salt cashews that I toasted. It made a huge difference the second time around. More rich flavor came through in the dish without the salty-ness. The minced garlic is a great addition in my opinion and the pureed ginger seemed to blend/coat everything nicer than the minced ginger. I only used a small amount of sesame oil in the pan when cooking which is less than 1/2 of what the recipe called for and it came out excellent. You can serve this with a lot of main dishes; it seems the Asian flavor stands alone and doesn't need to carry over to the rest of the meal which I was concerned about. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States