Asopao de Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
When I'm cooking for myself, I love to make this a bit hotter with fresh habanero or jalapeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Michael has a recipe for Asopao?!!! I'd like to hear the story behind this recipe. Anyways... I made half of it. I didn't measure the amount of adobo I used (not sure how much "1 serving" is anyways, 1/4 teaspoon if I go by what the bottle says and that would have been too little in my opinion). I didn't change anything but if I had had gandules (pigeon peas), I would have probably added those instead of the petite peas. This is Puerto Rican comfort food. Very nice on a cold rainy night (like tonight). I added some sliced avocado on top. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Filling and flavorful it was! I had a different meal plan for dinner today but got distracted and found this recipe instead when I browsed through the pictures. We love our traditional chicken and rice but wanted to try something different. I halved the recipe for my small family and made little adjustments due to availabilty; I only have pimentos itelf so i added a touch of that and to sub the salty/briny taste from the olives, I tossed a little bit of capers. Also used rotel tomatoes and green chiles, and just all red bell peppers. The broth is awesome. Thanks for the recipe and glad to see a picture to the recipe already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
For those that could not find the Adobo Seasoning, it is a seasoning mixture that contains a blend of spices and herbs (i.e. garlic, onion, salt, oregano, etc...) in specific portions that have been ground to a fine powder form. I usually find it in the international section of the grocery store. Though I have no doubt that using the can chipotle adobo sauce as a substitute made this very tasty, it also makes it a complete departure (and taste) from what the authentic flavor of this soup should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was an awesome one pot meal...I used a can of Goya Green Pigeon Peas since my local grocer did not carry the frozen petite peas. I wouldn't have used as many green olives though since I am not a fan of them. Other than that, I still give it two thumbs up and will surely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe was AMAZING!! My whole family loved it! The aroma from cooking had me impatient for it to be ready so we could try it. The only thing I didn't add was the peas. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I couldn't find adobo seasoning, so I sub'd chipotle peppers in adobo (4 de-seeded and finely chopped) and omitted the red pepper flakes. Fabulous recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lschreiber99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent soup. Its a great start. All that is needed is to season to taste. I used Traci's Adobo Seasoning on the site since I didnt have any. I add some extra chili powder & red pepper to kick up the heat to were I like it. Also added some asparagus and mushroom. Its great how easy it is to add whatever you have laying around. I look forward to making it again during the winter and hopefully with some avocado next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
So easy yet flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this last night with boneless skinless chicken thighs cut in half. Awesome recipe. My only change was I couldn't find adobo seasoning so I did what one other reviewer did and just used adobo sauce that came in a can of chipotle peppers. It wasn't as hot as I expected so next time will increase crushed red pepper or add some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat McCune

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States