Asopao de Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really easy to make, and delicious. I used black olives. Love the cilantro in it. I also seasoned the chicken with Penzy's Arizona Dreaming. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I couldn't find adobo seasoning, so I sub'd chipotle peppers in adobo (4 de-seeded and finely chopped) and omitted the red pepper flakes. Fabulous recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lschreiber99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent soup. Its a great start. All that is needed is to season to taste. I used Traci's Adobo Seasoning on the site since I didnt have any. I add some extra chili powder & red pepper to kick up the heat to were I like it. Also added some asparagus and mushroom. Its great how easy it is to add whatever you have laying around. I look forward to making it again during the winter and hopefully with some avocado next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was looking for a great dish with chicken thighs, and this was an amazing dish to stubble upon. I served it to a couple of friends for dinner. It hit the spot on a chilly autumn day. Things I changed: I added a seeded diced jalapeno to give a bit more kick. I have pre-measured packets of adobe seasoning. I used three instead of one to give the chicken that beautiful red/orange color. Last, do not cover the dish while it is simmering. I did by habit, and I had to cook it for a bit longer to get the liquid to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Easy and inexpensive to make. A nice one dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Michael has a recipe for Asopao?!!! I'd like to hear the story behind this recipe. Anyways... I made half of it. I didn't measure the amount of adobo I used (not sure how much "1 serving" is anyways, 1/4 teaspoon if I go by what the bottle says and that would have been too little in my opinion). I didn't change anything but if I had had gandules (pigeon peas), I would have probably added those instead of the petite peas. This is Puerto Rican comfort food. Very nice on a cold rainy night (like tonight). I added some sliced avocado on top. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Filling and flavorful it was! I had a different meal plan for dinner today but got distracted and found this recipe instead when I browsed through the pictures. We love our traditional chicken and rice but wanted to try something different. I halved the recipe for my small family and made little adjustments due to availabilty; I only have pimentos itelf so i added a touch of that and to sub the salty/briny taste from the olives, I tossed a little bit of capers. Also used rotel tomatoes and green chiles, and just all red bell peppers. The broth is awesome. Thanks for the recipe and glad to see a picture to the recipe already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
When I'm cooking for myself, I love to make this a bit hotter with fresh habanero or jalapeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States